Book Review: Another Day by David Levithan

image

Genre: Contemporary, Young Adult, Romance

Released Date: 25th of August 2015

Published by: Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers

Over the weekend, I was able to finish Another Day by David Levithan, the second and companion book of the painful, gut-wrenching, heart shattering and soulless book Everyday. (Finally! I was able to get some time for myself.) Everyday is a kind of book whereas you will never wanted to put the book down once you started it. Same goes with Another Day, I can’t put the book down and I kept on reading it until midnight.

Another Day is a companion novel of Everyday where we can read with Rhiannon’s perspective. Like the first book Everyday, every line, every word, every thought is as much as painful as this. I don’t know if I’m going to shoulder all the pain and continue reading it or should I throw the book on the wall or burn everything. (Kidding!) David Levithan, once again, delivers a devastating story to his readers and I wanted to give him a slow applause.

Rhiannon is in love with Justin and there is this one day, just one day that he became so sweet, became someone, someone she didn’t expect to act out of his character. Justin is moody, he does everything on his own and Rhiannon’s knew it very well. With the widely and tragically writing style of Levithan brings us into a new set of thoughts that will make you stop and breathe, stop and try to analyze the painful words that you just  read and somehow, will make you realize that his words are true and raw.

What if one day, the love you thought was there wasn’t really there? The thing is, the love you knew was not really the love you thought it was. The love you knew was the love that you can’t afford, the love you can’t find — the feeling and the need that you cannot provide and will never be? This is what Rhiannon felt. A needy girlfriend that stuck with one boy and choose to be blind because she is in love – or that what she thought it was. The New York Best-Selling Author David Levithan gave us more than we are expecting — a story of life, love and lessons that will determine how much you can sacrifice and offer to someone you love so much.

Here are few quotes that pierced through my heart:

“It hurts that I can be so full of him while he’s so empty of me.”

“That doesn’t mean anything, does it? I mean, being with someone for over a year can mean that you love them. . .but it can also mean you’re trapped.”

“You shouldn’t have to venture deep down in order to get to love.”

“I’m tired yes but not of you.”

“I can care about you. You can care about me. But we can’t be together.”

“Sincerity. I think that’s the word for this. For meaning something so much that it can’t be anything other than what it is.”

My ratings: 4 stars

So, what is your opinion on David Levithan’s Another Day? Let me hear your thoughts!

Leave a Reply

