Book Review: Queen of Shadows by Sarah J. Maas

Untitled-3.jpg

I was on goodreads and trying to read some of my friends’ reviews on Queen of Shadows by Sarah J. Maas and I was like, “What the hell?!”, you rated the book 3.5 stars! THREE POINT FIVE FREAKING STARS!!! I know people have their own choices and taste of books but 3POINT5 STARS IS BEYOND RUDE. You cannot go wrong with Sarah J. Maas, I am rating this book 5 stars!

SPLENDID. STUNNING. OUTSTANDING. EXCELLENT. BRILLANT. AMAZING.

Let’s start with the title, “Queen of Shadows”, for all the readers of Sarah J. Maas who patiently waiting every year for another book as we all know there is a reason why the title is Queen of Shadows and for those who haven’t read Queen of Shadows, probably by now, you already have an idea why was the title, entitled as Queen of shadows, right?

“But they held tighter to each other, past and present and future; flickering between an ancient hall in a mountain castle perched above Orynth, a bridge suspended between glass towers, and another place, perfect and strange, where they had been crafted from stardust and light. A wall of night knocked them back. But they could not be contained. The darkness paused for breath. They erupted.”
― Sarah J. MaasQueen of Shadows

Celaena, Lilian and Aelin, three different names but one character, the fire-breathing bitch queen, came back to Adarlan. Comparing her from her previous self. She was now wiser than before, fiercer and tease! Reading the first three chapters of the book, it is so painful that I don’t know if I’m going to continue reading the book or not. I am a shipper of Aelin and Dorian but things are not doing well on both sides and there’s the Chaol shippers, whom I believe have high hopes from Crown of Midnight and there are those who ship Aelin to Rowan from Heir of Fire. First things first. I was predicting that Celaena will go back to Adarlan and reunited with Chaol (I don’t know, I am a Dorian shipper but partly, I was hoping that they end up together at the beginning of the book) in which did happen but not the way the readers are expecting to.

“They were infinite. They were the beginning and the ending; they were eternity. The king standing before them gaped as the shield of flame died out to reveal Aelin and Dorian, hand in hand, glowing like newborn gods as their magic entwined.”
― Sarah J. MaasQueen of Shadows

“Dorian looked at the carpet, at all the threads woven together. ‘What do I do now?’ They were gone: the woman he’d loved–and the man he hated. He met her stare. No calculation, no coldness, no pity in those turquoise eyes. Just unflinching honesty, as there had been from the very start with her. ‘What do I do?’

She had to swallow before she said. ‘You light up the darkness.”
― Sarah J. MaasQueen of Shadows

“Dorian, we get to come back from this loss – from this darkness. We get to come back, and I came back for you.”
― Sarah J. MaasQueen of Shadows

For all the readers who are Dorian shippers like me will be in pain when reading his thoughts, it was like diving and drowning and suffocating into darkness – haunting by the past, blood and fear. Tearing apart every smiles and laughter and sucking every memory that you are holding into. That’s what I felt when I was reading his chapters. It was painful but the hope was still there – hoping that he could go back, that he could save – that he could end up with Aelin, the Queen of Terrasen.

“My name is Aelin Ashryver Galathynius. And I am the Queen of Terrasen.”
― Sarah J. MaasQueen of Shadows

“His name was Dorian.
Dorian Havillard, and he was the Crown Prince of Adarlan.”
― Sarah J. MaasQueen of Shadows

What I love in this book is that the character’s development, in each every individual character she had, you can see their development. How wiser Aelin became, how loyal and trustful Rowan is, how Aedion matures, how Manon sees the real Dorian (I am hating myself but am I the only one who slightly, partly, shipping them at the end of the book?), how Chaol changes and how Aelin plots every action carefully that you will hold your breath. It’s good that there’s a character change in this book, Lysandra, as we hate her in the previous books, you will like her better now. And there’s a new character! Elide! Elide is a half Fae and half Blackbeak witch, I believe Maas is introducing her because she will have a major role on her next books and here I am predicting that Elide maybe the one who will reunite Fae and Witches – who knows but that theory won’t hurt right? The twist and everything on this story deserves an applause. I didn’t see it coming. I never expected it to turn it that way. What I’ve known for 4 books, from Assassin’s Blade to Heir of Fire, is all a lie and it end up like that? LIKE THAT, THAT, that I don’t want to accept because it is so painful and I cannot accept the fact that those decisions are for protecting him. I really hate Sarah J. Maas, she is so good that I always anticipating her books and when I’m done reading, I wanted more. I badly wanted more and I can’t wait for another year or two. I don’t mind if she will write 10 books a year, it would be great and I will buy everything she writes. She is that good!

My conclusion? If you haven’t read this series. Start now. You will never go wrong with her and her books. It’s magical. She has this writing style that you wanted to read more and continue going until you drop your eyes dead. She has this way of describing everything in detail that you end up imagining and falling in love in their worlds, wishing that you could have been there, witnessing everything that is happening on the book. Again, you could never go wrong with her.

“I am going to destroy everything you love.”
― Sarah J. MaasQueen of Shadows

“Hello, Sam,” she breathed onto the river breeze.”
― Sarah J. MaasQueen of Shadows

Leave a Reply

