Book Review: All The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

Untitled-6

I never heard of this book before but after opening the few pages of the book, between the lines I was caught up with the story of Violet and Finch. Violet is a popular student in their school who was engaged in a recent accident with her sister where her sister dies. She struggles with longing and she hates herself for not being in her place. And there is this Finch, who saves Violet in an unusual turn of events in their school. Finch is a good guy, probably better than anyone who wanted to live in the world freely but Finch also has his issues. He thinks of suicide every day, he struggles on surviving — it feels like he is dying in inside while trying to live in the present.

“I know life well enough to know you can’t count on things staying around or standing still, no matter how much you want them to. You can’t stop people from dying. You can’t stop them from going away. You can’t stop yourself from going away either. I know myself well enough to know that no one else can keep you awake or keep you from sleeping.”
― Jennifer NivenAll the Bright Places

Two broken souls crossed paths and that’s where their story begins. Full of surprises, adventures and lessons to learn on this amazing book. You will feel the struggling of the character, you will feel how things changed between two people when they look at each other’s back and you will understand how important life is. What really amazing about this book is when Violet and Finch do the wandering of places in their home town —  it feels like they want to conquer the world. Travelling can sometimes do much to a person, to unwind, to find yourself or to enjoy living in the moment. And that’s what the two character did, enjoy each other’s company and appreciate the little wonders of nature.

“The great thing about this life of ours is that you can be someone different to everybody.”
― Jennifer NivenAll the Bright Places

With the amazing writing style of the author, emphasizing that Jennifer Niven was able to deliver that healing, destruction, love and pain can be combined in a story, in her story, because I believe that this book is a semi-autobiography of her. Continue reading until the acknowledgements and you will know what I am talking about.

“You deserve better. I can’t promise you I’ll stay around, not because I don’t want to. It’s hard to explain. I’m a fuckup. I’m broken, and no one can fix it. I’ve tried. I’m still trying. I can’t love anyone because it’s not fair to anyone who loves me back. I’ll never hurt you, not like I want to hurt Roamer. But I can’t promise I won’t pick you apart, piece by piece, until you’re in a thousand pieces, just like me. You should know what you’re getting into before getting involved.”
― Jennifer NivenAll the Bright Places

What I’ve learned from this book is that:

Those who’ve been left by their loved one is more in pain than those who died because their memory, their essence, their love stays in you, whether in your heart or in your mind the pain will always there.

“The thing I realize is, that it’s not what you take, it’s what you leave.”
― Jennifer NivenAll the Bright Places

Sometimes the love you receive is not enough for you to stay.

And my favorite quote:

“You saved my life. Why couldn’t I save yours?”
― Jennifer NivenAll the Bright Places

Things happened in life. We never know what is currently happening in individual’s head much less what is happening on their life. Finch and Violet may be struggling, fighting, or maybe, somehow, dying in inside but that’s what makes them them, right? Life is so full of darkness as much as lightness it has. The second you smile, the minute you break. The minute you laugh, an hour you’ll feel devastated. People tend to focus on negativity because they believe being pessimistic will set them free – the lesser the happiness, the lesser the chances that their hopes will break. We look into the down side of life that in moments, we fail to see the light – the positivity that it has. The fun we could find, the simplicity of life itself that can enrage its beauty once you knew how to appreciate it. Maybe, we are just afraid, something we’ve been through and don’t want to experience again or something we endure for so long that we are so tired to face it again and hurt all over but that’s life, right? Appreciating the little things, finding the moments you feel where you can be happy and contented on the things, on everything you have. The story of the two characters will make you realize that there is so much more in life.

3 thoughts on “Book Review: All The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

  1. “Things happened in life. We never know what is currently happening in individual’s head much less what is happening on their life.” ❤ This reminded me so much of Jay Asher’s 13 Reasons Why. Another heartbreaking novel if you ask me. Have you read it?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

