RPB’s List of Painful Books [#1]

painful 1

Year 2015 was my painful reads, I am a big fan of painful romance books or romance with the mixture of tragedy or death. I don’t have any problems with cheesy lines as long as the story at the end would be broken and devastating. Why am I sharing my list of soul-shattering books? Simple. I just wanted you to feel how I felt last year, I have a list of painful books — for now, I am going to share 10 books and soon there will be more. I already drafted 2 of my blog post for painful books including this one. So, please, look forward to some more tears! Enjoy.


AWhen It Rains by Lisa de Jong is the kind of literature that will catch you on its first page. Terrible events did happened to Kate that she stuck with someone she doesn’t love and couldn’t see the attraction of her best friend towards her. After years of escaping and avoiding and struggling on how to live in a single day, Asher Hunt from nowhere she knows where he was from, took an interest to her and made her whole, whole that it hurts for both of them because they know what kind of pain they are entering and what kind of relationship they are going to take ahead. The cruel and tear-jerker book of Lisa de Jong will left you broken and for some reason, will appreciate the beauty of tissue papers.

“You don’t live because of me. You live because you let me love you. You made the choice to breathe all on your own…I just helped you find the strength to inhale.”

22669832Bright Side by Kim Holden is one of my painful reads that I am sure that I will never EVER forget, it made me happy, it made me look into other perspective, it made me see the positive in every day, it changes my opinion to people. Kate (another Kate!), is Bright Side and her best friend Gus, is a musician. She moved from their home to study and to meet new awesome people who who knows who that will touch your heart somehow. Kate is a beautiful character inside and out, you’ll learn to like her, you will fall for her and before you know it, she healed you in the process of reading her life. Bright Side is one of those books that will marked into your mind — and my special scene here is when Kate and Gus composed music and sing and composed again. I could feel their emotions flowing through words and pages, I could feel the emotions overflowing, drowning me while reading and crying. This book deserves to be read. And I am excited! Because on February 2016, this book will be on my hands!

“My life will not follow a fairy tale, and that’s okay. My life is reality. And in my reality people don’t fall in love and get married and live happily ever after, because life is complicated. And messy.”

23389993Gus by Kim Holden is the second installment of Bright Side, set in the point of view of Gus, her best friend, the musician. The first chapters of Gus is…you wouldn’t like it but you will understand him, why he is acting like that. Emotions are dripping on this book. This novel is not just a book, this is a story of friendship, love and family. I couldn’t hold onto myself when this book releases, I was so eager to read it. I even read some of this on my internship, admittedly. I wanted to cry! But I couldn’t. I feel so many emotions on this book; I was sad, I was devastated, I was touched, it was a combination of longing and pain and sorrow but in the end, Kim Holden never fail us — she gave us the book that we deserve. A book that we will forever store in our hearts. Thank you Kim Holden!

“Some people wear their scars on the outside. Others wear them on the inside. Same difference. Your character, your heart, your essence, that’s what’s important, because that’s the real you. All the rest, our looks, the material stuff? It’s just meaningless bullshit.”

19506010All of It by Kim Holden, As you can see, I include all of Kim Holden’s book because it was that awesome and good. All of It will give you all the butterflies, the curiosity of dreams and the perfect ideal relationship that you wish you could have too. Every chapter with this book is so worth it to read, I don’t want it to end, I wish that it could go on and go on but a good book must come to an end. The end — It was the time where I cried, just simply, it was awesome and how Kim Holden wrote this book, full of inspiration and emotions that will drift you apart from your mind, body and soul!

“I’ve learned that to love means giving everything, body and soul, and expecting nothing in return. The beautiful thing is that if you’re loved in return, it will all come back to you ten-fold.”

13372690Slammed by Colleen Hoover

This was my second Colleen Hoover after I got hooked with Finding Cinderella and this one is my favorite among her works. Colleen Hoover books made me love the New Adult genre, I was not a fan at first but when I tried it, I couldn’t help to read the other works of her. Slammed is about the story of Lake and Will, story of both of their families, how they handle the pressure, the lost, and how they get up. Some books are just made just to inspire you. That’s how I felt with Slammed. And Lake’s mother? Julia? Oh, I wish I had her as a mother too! I don’t mind two mothers.

“Never judge others. You both know good and well how unexpected events can change who a person is. Always keep that in mind. You never know what someone else is experiencing within their own life.”

15753977Legend Trilogy by Marie Lu is a dystopian novel set in the future. There’s a Legend in the outskirts and that would be Daniel Altan Wing and there’s a Prodigy who belong in the higher class, the best among the best, June Aparis. People in this world took exam and evaluate what would be their position in their country and the higher your grades would be, the higher the possibility to rank up in the society. The painful and action packed trilogy gave us the roller coaster of emotions. Marie Lu knows how to write a character where readers would love and will cry over. Marie Lu knows how to break our hearts. Read the trilogy and you’ll know what I am talking about!

“Each day means a new twenty-four hours. Each day means everything’s possible again. You live in the moment, you die in the moment, you take it all one day at a time.”

19063The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

Have you read a book where you are the main protagonist and what is happening in your life is what you read in the book? That sums up The Book Thief.

“People observe the colors of a day only at its beginnings and ends, but to me it’s quite clear that a day merges through a multitude of shades and intonations with each passing moment. A single hour can consist of thousands of different colors. Waxy yellows, cloud-spot blues. Murky darkness. In my line of work, I make it a point to notice them.”

13312527The Opportunist by Tarryn Fisher

This book never fail me to be amaze and shocked. I was not ready for feels and I just got hooked and keep on reading before I know it, I need the Book 2 and Book 3. This one drives me crazy, paranoid and I don’t know — maybe a little crazy again? The story is so brilliant that I don’t know how to consider the ending as a happy or ending, either way, it was painful to read.

“You can only give your heart away once, after that, everything else will chase your first love”

18003300Love & Misadventure by Lang Leav

Do you love poems? Lang Leav’s poem are short but straight to the point, you can feel directly the pain with those short words. It’s amazing! It’s an easy read and if you are opted to find a painful read — this one is for you!

“It was a question I had worn on my lips for days – like a loose thread on my favourite sweater I couldn’t resist pulling – despite knowing it could all unravel around me.

“Do you love me?” I ask.

In your hesitation I found my answer.”

13262783Everyday by David Levithan

NO ONE WILL EVER MOVE ON WITH THIS BOOK. I read this book 3 years ago and until now, I could feel the selflessness of A, the main character and how he fall in love with Rhiannon. THIS BOOK DESERVES AN AWARD! SERIOUSLY! It was one of those books that I couldn’t put down because it was way too awesome and David Levithan is so good to write a mind-blowing perspective universe and concept on this book. You will ask yourself if this kind of scenario is existing?! It was creepy and interesting at the same time. I want more and the second book just released last year entitled as “Another Day” and there was a planned sequel. I can’t wait!

“If there’s one thing I’ve learned, it’s this: We all want everything to be okay. We don’t even wish so much for fantastic or marvelous or outstanding. We will happily settle for okay, because most of the time, okay is enough.”


What are your painful reads, folks? Comment down below and let’s talk about them!

Leave a Reply

