Book Review: In This Life by Christine Brae

blogbanner (1)


Pageflex Persona [document: PRS0000035_00030]

Amazing! I was having a book slump after reading November 9 when I came into possession of the eARC of In This Life and I couldn’t start any book after finishing Hoover’s latest book. Seriously, Christine Brae’s book just released me from my book slump and it feels like I was delivered into an amazing passion of love and regret — and I don’t know, I just started the book and read the first few lines and somehow, I am inhaling her book — I was continuously reading it word by word, I couldn’t stop and it was magical and devastating. The first thing that really caught my attention was Christine’s writing style. I can see the huge improvement of her words and how she blend them, how she describe the emotions — it feels like real, it was real. I can feel the emotions overflowing through her characters and I can sense their grief and fear and confusion and love. I was in a verge of crying three times since Part I through Part III of the novel and I couldn’t take it when I got to Part IV, I am literally crying in the bus. I know it was a shame but this book is so emotional that I can’t put it down. You will be keeping on wanting to read more, you will crave for the stories to come, to the chapters to read. You will look forward on the lessons how life sucks every happiness within a person until every joy in your soul becomes a tear.

Anna. She’s a great character and somehow I can understand where her anger is coming from. She was young and she can’t understand complicated things in life that can brought smiles and happiness to someone. At the other side of her character, she is irritating too but she knows what and who to prioritize. I love how Anna realize the she was loved by her mother, how everyone, surrounding her, loves her so deeply.

Jude. I like his personality, you can feel it by reading that he has a soothing side, that you wanted to be around him but I hate him — Not really to the point of ‘hate’, somewhere along ‘dislike’ . Why doesn’t he try to contact Anna earlier? What could happen if they met earlier? It really breaks my heart for Anna. I wanted to hug her and comfort her. But what could have done, right? A lot of my friends liked Jude but I never like him through and through. One of the good thing about Jude is that he is compassionate and he is determined but sometimes, things don’t go well in your life because the brain tells you what you want to pursue but your heart meddles because it beats for what you really desire.

Dante. Don’t start me with him. Dante is one of the characters that you will love till the end. No matter what happened or no matter what will the ending be. Dante is a best and  forever will be a best friend of Anna and the secret lover at the same time. What I don’t understand is that Christine loves to make her readers in pain. No, you just don’t do that Christine. You just don’t break your reader’s heart into pieces and make it whole again and crushed it again. Do you know what is confusing on your characters? I don’t know who to choose to comfort or to give love or to understand. They are all have choices and those choices are so difficult. For Anna, for her love to Dante or for choosing what her heart beats for and what her brain tells her? For Jude, for choosing the path that he pursued for so long or to abandon it and choose the love that was already in front of him. For Dante, to be selfish and love Anna unconditionally or to let go of people because that’s how big his love.

It was an explosion of emotion, a steel made of tears and life. This book made me think how people accept things that could happen on their life. How they fight for the thing they wanted the most or how they continue on hoping that there will be light upon them. It was fantastical and divine. This book exceeded my expectations and this is one of those book that you can’t define nor describe if the ending is a happy ending or not. Maybe, it will be depending on the reader. And this book is the best among your books, Christine! No Doubt! Some, may hate or love this book but one thing is for sure. In this Life is a book that will teach you a lot about love, life and yourself. I am rating this book 5 freaking stars! This is not an ordinary book. It was, it is and it will ever be a masterpiece.

About the Author


christine2Christine Brae is a full-time career woman who thought she could write a book about her life and then run away as far as possible from it. She never imagined that her words would touch the hearts of so many women with the same story to tell. In This Life is her fourth book, and is set to come out on January 22, 2015.

When not listening to the voices in her head or spending late nights at the office, Christine can be seen shopping for shoes and purses, running a half marathon or spending time with her husband and three children in Chicago.


Check out the blogs who are also participating in “IN THIS LIFE BLOG TOUR

Feather from Book Store Bug

Khesa of A Quarter of Quinn

Elena from The Queen Reads

Erika from The Nocturnal Fey

JM from Bookfreak Revelations

Nicka from Read by Nicka

Amanda of Fandomly Bookish

Alyssa, The Storyteller

Elline Fay of Bibliophile Soprano

 

 

One thought on “Book Review: In This Life by Christine Brae

Leave a Reply

