Interview with Christine Brae

Christine

ABOUT THE AUTHOR


 

christine2

Christine Brae is a full time career woman who thought she could write a book about her life and then run away as far as possible from it. She never imagined that her words would touch the hearts of so many women with the same story to tell. Christine is the author of The Light in the Wound, His Wounded Light and Insipid. Her new book, In This Life, is set to release in January 2016.

When not listening to the voices in her head or spending late nights at the office, Christine can be seen shopping for shoes and purses, running a half marathon or spending time with her husband and three children in Chicago.

THE INTERVIEW


  1. First, tell me what inspired the story of Anna, Dante, and Jude?

Anna, Dante and Jude are all inspired by real people, who were in these dilemmas at some time or other in their life.  All three of them are inspired by right place wrong time events, of quiet suffering, of confusion and the irrational effects of falling head over heels in love. This story is inspired by those who thought they knew what they wanted out of life, and who find out that there is never a time that we stop learning, evolving and changing. That we need to be free to change our destiny if we want to.

2. At some point, there is bound to be some negative comments spirituality and religion. Are you prepared of that?

Yes, I fully expect that some people may not connect with the beliefs stated in this book. I tried to make that a subtopic, tried to introduce overtones and not have that be the central focus of the book. But I think that the need to do good in the world is universal, and I’m hoping that this will thread together our differences in beliefs.

3. What is the most painful, saddest scene for you in the book? Who is the strongest person in the novel and why?

I think that the saddest scenes in the book are the deepest conversations between the main characters. It doesn’t take much to feel the pain in their words. This is Anna’s story and therefore I think that she is the strongest.

I know. I know, Christine. I cried on that part.

4. Falling in love 100%.. for Anna, was it 100% with someone she married with? Or there could never be a 100% love?

You know my answer to that. There can never be 100% love between 2 people. The heart is a complicated thing, people are complicated beings. It’s not fair to place such a huge expectation on the one you love to try to fulfill every part of you. I think your heart can be shared with different people who fill different parts of you.

 Anna loved her husband 100%. Or so she thought. Oftentimes we think we are fulfilled until someone comes along to show us that there was a teeny weeny part that was left open.

This hit me so hard! 

5. If given a chance that this becomes a film in the future, who do you want to play Anna, Dante, and Jude? Why?

I honestly haven’t thought that far. I think I need to audition people 🙂 Specially the actors.

6. At one point, the love portrayed in the novel is somewhat forbidden. What is your message for those people who are harboring feelings for people that they cannot have?

Oh no, this is a hard one. I want to tell you to have hope and that we will never know if we don’t do something about it. I’ve told people how much I loved them last year, even if I wasn’t sure if they loved me back.

I don’t know if we can force what’s not meant to be, I certainly learned that the hard way. But I know that we should never be ashamed of feeling something for a person or for something that may be unattainable.

7. Have there been criticisms? How do you take them?

Yes there have been. But I try to focus on the good things and on the fact that I have a wonderful life and successful career outside of this! At some point, we all have to say, “okay, I’ve really tried. This is my fourth book.” I’m so lucky that if this doesn’t work out, I can just walk away. It doesn’t mean I stop writing. It just means that I’m not meant to publish what I write for myself.

8. Do you believe in fate? Why or why not?

I absolutely do believe in fate!! We meet people for a reason. Every single person crosses our path for a purpose.

9. An important plot point of the story for me is confusion. Please give a short message for all the people who are confused about their feelings for their loved ones.

It’s totally fine to be confused. And it’s totally fine to be confused for a long time. But in the end, you will have to make a choice and live with it. For as long as we exercise accountability, we should be prepared to take the consequences of our decisions.

Confusion leads to courage. Be brave and don’t ever regret your feelings.

10. Favorite quote from this book that you could never ever forget?

There are so many! I can’t really think of a specific one! Although I really love the one that says, “I should dance in his tears. I should dance in them and wash all my wounds away.”


Wow! I love your answers, Christine! I know you probably heard this from me a multiple of times but I wanted to tell you, again, Thank you so much! For being there, for being a part of my life — for being a friend. We will continue supporting you! I swear. Let’s hope and I know, you will keep on sharing the lessons of life.

One thought on “Interview with Christine Brae

Leave a Reply

