Book Review: The Wrath and The Dawn by Renee Ahdieh

The Wrath and The Dawn

“…In my life, the one thing I have learned above all is that no individual can reach the height of their potential without the love of others. We are not meant to be alone, Shahrzad. The more a person pushes others away, the clearer it becomes he is in need of love the most.”

After reading Calamity by Brandon Sanderson, I don’t have any idea what to read next. I decided to find some matching colors with the cover and I found The Wrath & The Dawn, one of my birthday book haul, and wished to read, to be the book that I was going to read next. I am not fond of reading the synopsis of the book, I usually eyed them and figured out why was the cover design looks like something elegant and exquisite. And so, the reading started.

The Wrath and The Dawn is a retelling of One Thousand and One Nights. Honestly? I don’t have any idea what was the story or the tale of One Thousand and One Nights is all about. I am familiar with the name but there was never a time in which I stumbled upon the story to read or watched it until The Wrath and The Dawn. And I am definitely happy that I this kind of novel is existing.

I don’t know what to feel about the story of One Thousand and One Nights in which retold on The Wrath and The Dawn. I could feel the pain, the misery, the longing, the regret, the sadness and above all – the sorrow in which laid upon to Khalid, the Caliph, the Kings of the King. I was not aware of the storyline so you could imagine how utterly shocked I was when I was on the part where they revealed why women die when the dawn reaches another sunlight.

I admit this, I get bored on the first few pages of the book. I was not hooked, it does not piqued my interest however I think anyone can understand it because, maybe, I was not yet moved on from the third book of Reckoners Trilogy, Calamity, in which for everyone knows gave me a lot of twisted plot and undesirable emotions that led me back into feels trip. But as I was typing this, I promised you, I learn to love the story, I dissolved in their emotions, I have conflicted with their decisions, I was intoxicated by their actions. The characters are well made and it feels like they are real.

“Prove that a real man doesn’t make a show of what’s his. It just is.”

“Is it? Are you mine?” Khalid asked with quiet solemnity.

Her conviction wavered further. “I told you; don’t try to own me.”

“I don’t want to own you.”

She swiveled her neck to meet his gaze. “Then never speak of sending me away again. I am not yours to with as you will.”

Khalid’s features smoothed knowingly.”How right you are. You are not mine.” He dropped his palm from the door. 

“I am yours.”

It was probably a bit hard at the start of the story because there are a lot of foreign names that you don’t know of and it was not the usual names that I’ve been reading. It made me confuse, I think that was the dragging part of the first few chapters of the book but as the reading went on, I learn to like their names. I became so fond of it and find it amusing to have that kind of name and made me think, what could be the meaning or the reason why a name like that exist or such a lovely name blessed to the character.

I remembered when I was on page 67 when I started to love the book. I don’t know why but I think this book is refreshing on my part. It was written in third person’s perspective that gave me a new feeling on reading. I think the books that I’ve been choosing for this year was always written on the first point of view. It made sense and the writing style of Renee Ahdieh is captivating. I never across such a magnificent author who can manipulate and collide words with such beauty, passion and admiration.

Do you know what I love about this book? THAT BEAUTIFULLY CRAFTED ENDING. It was broken and yet satisfying. Longed-full and yet painful. Disastrous and yet historical. I wanted to scream everything out when I read that ending. I never expected nor across it with my brain to have that kind of ending. I couldn’t grasp the conviction and I couldn’t get a glimpse of hatred – I could feel that everything is out of pure love. And that’s pretty amazing and dangerous.

My heart aches for her characters – for I feel their emotions inside me, I could feel that Khalid is facing an extreme attraction that cannot be fulfilled, that Shahrzad is battling out the struggles of her heart to the power of need and love, that Despina is inflicted by the hollow love and the intimidating hierarchy that made her feel she doesn’t anything deserving on her terms, and Jalal who smiles and flirts around intentionally or not with his playful knowledge and brilliant vocabulary lies a lonely man, who is longing for true love.

This fast-paced literature will bring you the thrilling and despiteful experience of love and the consequences that you need to fight with the unwanted sacrifices that have to be made. You will love this amazing book for what is it and definitely, you will yearn for more of their stories, for what will happen next. And I am thankful that I read The Wrath and The Dawn with so much attention and passion. I am thankful that I didn’t drop it halfway and I continue to seek for the ending. I am thankful that I read such a marvelous book that will hold dear to my heart.

Thank you Renee Ahdieh for writing a novel that will engrave to my heart.

My ratings: 5 stars!!

“What are you doing to me, you plague of a girl?” He whispered.

“If I’m a plague, then you should keep your distance, unless you plan on being destroyed.” The weapons still in her grasp, she shoved against his chest.

“No.” His hands dropped to her waist. “Destroy me.”

2 thoughts on “Book Review: The Wrath and The Dawn by Renee Ahdieh

    • Hi, Jessica! Thank you so much for trusting my words! You’ll have a great journey with that book! AND FUDGE, The Wrath and The Dawn was one of my 5 stars! I swear, It will be great!!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

