Book Review: The Darkest Lie by Pintip Dunn

Darkest Lie Header

I would like to apologize for posting my book review late. I was at my Internship in a far away province whereas internet is limited for a month!

The Darkest Lie

What I noticed about this book is about mentioning sensitive subjects and discussing it through the course of the novel which are: suicide, pedophilia, physical violence and bullying. These are some topics that have been tackled on the book and there are a lot to mention. I just don’t want to spoil everything.

I believed that Pintip is writing this book for everyone. She wanted to raise awareness both at the same time to help the victims to stand on their own and find their voices to find justice. And I am delighted that this book is something light and captivating. I keep on reading because I just need to find answers.

Despite on predicting and guessing who is the predator, I didn’t managed to find out. I don’t know why. She’s that good. I barely figured out who. There was a point that I was confused who to accused of, then, in time, I always changed who is the person behind on CeCe’s mother’s death/suicide.

I liked it how Pintip shift from a different genre and write a completey different one. And she did write a good one on top of that! I also noticed in every book of her that the love of family always comes first. And she hasn’t failed to point out the flaws and the changes on the relationship of the members of the family.

Personally, I think its actually good. You wouldn’t know when will you have time for your family, you wouldn’t know what could happen. She made me appreciate my parents more. There was a line that strucked at me.

“I love you, sweetheart. I’ve always loved you. I just didn’t know how to show it.”

You would realized that each one of us have different kind of ways to love. There are people who are showy and there are those who don’t. There are those who give you little messages and there are those who support you on the back even if you aren’t aware. People just show different kinds of love and we just have to appreciate how they do it because we wouldn’t never know if someone knows how to.

I like Pintip’s writing style, as if you are in the mind of a teenage girl. Feeling her grieve and anger, her sadness and humiliation, her embarassment and her pain. What I learned from reading this book is to learn to stand up on your own. You wouldn’t move on if you don’t look forward and face your fears. Life is full of choices, whether you suceed or fail, there has to be something to learn and what matters is that you experience something out of your comfort zone.

The Darkest Lie is a light novel that will held you captive with Pintip’s words. It will caught your curiosity and will make you read it till the end. You’ll just love how her protagonist change and discover herself in a new perspective.

My ratings: 4.5 stars

The Book Depository | Amazon

You might also want to check their book reviews:

Aika from AikaLoraine

Jennylyn from The Witch Queen’s Realm

Erika from The Nocturnal Fey

ABOUT THE AUTHOR


Pintip Dunn

When her first-grade teacher asked her what she wanted to be when she grew up, Pintip replied, “An author.” Although she has pursued other interests over the years, this dream has never wavered.

Pintip graduated from Harvard University, magna cum laude, with an A.B. in English Literature and Language. She received her J.D. at Yale Law School, where she was an editor of the YALE LAW JOURNAL.

Pintip is represented by literary agent Beth Miller of Writers House. She is a 2012 RWA Golden Heart® finalist and a 2014 double-finalist.

She lives with her husband and children in Maryland.

 

2 thoughts on “Book Review: The Darkest Lie by Pintip Dunn

Leave a Reply

