Interview with Andrew Stanek!

1. What is your motivation and inspiration on writing Wild Sky? What made you write a science fiction novel for the first time? (as stated at the end of your book)

I’ve been writing for a while, and I’ve been trying to find a genre that suits me. While searching, I’ve written fantasy novels, mysteries, political fiction, historical fiction, comedy, and more. My foray into science fiction was just me trying to write in a new genre.

2. Will there be a sequel or a prequel for this book? If yes, How many are you planning to write?

I have not planned any sequels or prequels for Wild Sky, unfortunately. When I wrote my first published novel, Empire, I got very excited about it, and I was convinced that everyone was going to love it, and I’d have to write lots of sequels to satisfy the demands of fans. I planned lots of sequels. No one ever readEmpire. I don’t plan sequels in advance anymore.

3. Based on your letter for your readers, you said there that you have no intentions to write Wild Sky the way it has, what is your original plan on writing it?

My original plan for Wild Sky was basically this: I wanted to explore the implications a one-way teleportation device would have for humanity. Would it be useful for industry? Transportation? Art? Science? I suddenly realized that a gate would actually be an extremely dangerous thing if used for military purposes. Hence Wild Sky.

4. Halen is a mysterious man and has a disciplined personality. Will we know more of Halen’s past on your future novels if there will be (it has to be!)? Where did you based Halen’s character? Are there some characters of yours that you put into Halen’s p

Halen’s character was based on an earlier character of mine from a novel called Ambition. The main character in this novel was also named Halen, and he was a hero general operating in 19th century Europe. Unfortunately, I was not able to publish this novel because I got into a copyright dispute over it, so I decided to at least reuse Halen’s name. His personality somewhat carried over.

5. Instead of asking Sir Andrew Stanek, I wanted to ask Halen’s 5 favorite books and his personal favorite quotes from those books.

I don’t really have an answer to this question because I haven’t thought about. In Wild Sky, we get the sense that Halen really likes quotes from famous speeches rather than books (although he also has a lot of books). At one point he quotes Martin Luther King Jr. I would say that quote is his favorite. His second favorite quote would probably be Noam Chomsky’s “War does not determine who is right, only who is left.” Then, “On the day when two army corps may mutually annihilate each other in a second, probably all civilized nations will recoil with horror and disband their troops.” (Alfred Nobel). I don’t know what the other two would be. There are many good quotes about war.

6. Let’s say that you’ve been given an opportunity to dine, talk and have a one day opportunity with someone who is already dead. Who would it be and why?

I’d probably choose to dine with my grandfather, who died when I was very young. I didn’t get a chance to know him, and I have a lot of questions I’d want to ask.

7. What was the difficult part on writing Wild Sky?

Wild Sky was pretty easy to write. My biggest problem was that I actually don’t know anything about the navy or running a vessel, so I had to try to come up with jargon and procedures that sounded realistic.

8. Deaf_mute is mysterious. What is on your mind when you are building his/her character?

The entire character of deaf_mute is based on a character called “the Laughing Man” from the anime series Ghost in the Shell. The Laughing Man is a genius hacker who is pursued by the main characters in that show. The name deaf_mute is based on a quote from The Catcher in the Rye by J. D. Salinger, which is itself written on The Laughing Man’s emblem in Ghost in the Shell.

9. Top 5 Favorite Foods!

My five top favorite foods are pasta, pizza, ice cream, sesame balls, and soup.

10. Your favorite quote on Wild Sky and why you chose it?

“If I have a gate, you can’t shoot me, but I can shoot you.” I’ll leave it to the reader to read Wild Sky and find out why it’s my favorite quote.

11. How many hours of research did you do to write Wild Sky? What kind of reasearch do you do?

Zero. There was no research involved in writingWild Sky. The only research I recall doing was looking up the names of various naval bases in the US, which only took 15 minutes at the most.

12. Share a story of your daily life!

No stories from my daily life spring to mind. Most of what I do is writing.

13. A little message for those who wanted to become a writer in the future.

Write a lot! If people don’t like one of your novels, then write another and another. Also, promote your books. Otherwise, people won’t read them.

14. What do you think the most sensitive subject on your book? I think it was killing without the feeling of guilt or hesitation on doing so. Your thoughts?

I thought the most sensitive subject of the book was mankind developing an escalating capacity to destroy itself. I don’t really have a lot to say about this except that I don’t like the idea of militarized gates, which Wild Sky is all about.

15. What made you choose to be a writer?

Even I don’t know that. I just couldn’t not write, and I didn’t like the path I was on before I became a writer. So I became a writer.

Leave a Reply

