Interview with Joel T. McGrath!

something_eternal

  1. Could you tell us something about yourself? How you ended up writing a book or something, what inspires you to write a book?

1A) Well, I think the people I encounter every day inspire me to write. The places I’ve been inspire me, too. I’ve been writing for quite a while now. I write tons and tons of nurses’ notes, which if you think about it, are tiny eight-hour stories about a person’s life.

During a mandatory, all day nurses’ meeting many years ago, I took the seat farthest away from my boss at a large boardroom table. Everyone at the table was taking notes with paper and pen, but I just politely nodded every so often and wrote my first draft during that nine-hour meeting. To this day, no one in the room of fifteen nurses and mangers knows, well, I guess they will now.

  1. I don’t have any clue what your book is all about, can you tell us a short story about your book and something we should really look forward to?

2A) Something Eternal explores how we see ourselves, individually and collectively versus a third party roving about, hidden in plain sight sees us. It’s about raw emotions and restrained emotions. It’s about the person we present to the world versus the person we truly are inside. As for looking forward into Something Eternal, you’ll find yourself in amazing backdrops and… I bet you’ll even find a part of yourself in at least one of my characters along the way.

  1. How was your journey being a writer? What are your struggles and obstacles that you have to endure to published a book? How was it feel that you are going to be a published author in a number of days?

3A) My “journey being a writer” is my journey through life. I first faced rejection when my father left. I was three years old. Sure, we reunited a few years later, but it was never the same again. I’ve sold foreign rights through my agent abroad, but I’ve yet to land a domestic agent in three hundred and seventy-five tries. I’ve had several editors at large publishing houses and agents say, “Wow, this is really intriguing, but it’s not on our list.” I believe Something Eternal can transcend any list once readers catch a glimpse into a world full of refreshing, organically crafted storytelling. 

  1. Can you recommend us your top five favorite books?

4A)  (5) How They Croaked (4) The Great Gatsby (3) Pride and Prejudice (2) Bunnicula (1) Body Language in Literature (I know, I have an eclectic palate.)

  1. What do you do when you are in a book hangover? Is there any particular book that made you in a book hangover?

5A) I listen to music when I’m “in a book hangover.” I certainly don’t write; it screws up my writing. I also meditate or go to the ocean. I would have to say…Middle School Blues gave me a serious book hangover, and anything else that jumps around too much. Ouch, my aching head!

  1. What was your childhood like? Any happy memories or something funny that you could share?

6A) I don’t know, I grew up the eighth of nine kids. I feel kind of detached from my childhood. My parents were pretty old when they had me, so they were more like grandparents who were never around. All of my older siblings had left home long before, and they didn’t come back around much. My parents took me out of public school in the fourth grade, so I was very isolated until I left home and enrolled in college seven hundred miles, and many years later. I guess that’s when my life really began. Sorry, I’m not trying to be a downer. I have happy and fun memories, they’re just so scattered and sporadic though. I’m making my happiest memories now.

  1. Top five favorite foods! Pizza and Bacon are exceptions!

7A) Yum! (5) Lobster ravioli with Alfredo sauce (4) Shephard’s Pie (3) A BBQ burger at Breakers in Florida (2) Chicken Marsala (1) Baked Spaghetti

  1. If there is one genre that you least favorite and what is it? Why?

8A) I’m fairly open minded. I’ll read anything that catches my attention. Conversely, I won’t stick with a book if it’s the genre I like, yet is full of tropes, clichés, and is just plain stupid.

  1. What is/are your hobbies? What do you do when you are not writing?

9A) I collect Transformers, yes, the toys. I have to say, my collection has reached it’s limit. Don’t worry though, I don’t play with them. It’s much worse than that. I just look at them, all posed for action in my large glass case.

When I’m not writing, I’m thinking about writing. Is that crazy?

  1. Your favorite quote from your latest book and why is it your favorite among them?

10A) Something Eternal: “Who are you? WHO ARE YOU?” Vincent whispered with frustration. His eyes grew large. He gasped and dropped the beaded necklace. Reaching toward the window, he sat up and yelled aloud, “She needs me!” He slid back into bed and repeated, “She needs me. She needs me.” An orange, black, and white spotted butterfly briefly rested on the glass before it flew off, and Vincent gently faded into sleep.

 

This is more of a passage. Um, but I really enjoy fleeting emotions displayed through spoken, non-verbal, and subtle environmental happenings.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR


abna
Joel T. McGrath is a proud member of the New Hampshire Writers’ Project. He is a four-time top 20% choice for the Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award with four different manuscripts. He has sold foreign rights to his first novel through a literary agent in Turkey. Joel is currently working with a Disney illustrator on a graphic novel and hopes to release portions of the work in summer 2017.  Website | Facebook 

 

4 thoughts on “Interview with Joel T. McGrath!

Leave a Reply

