Book Review: A Torch Against The Night by Sabaa Tahir

atorchagainstthenight_cv-4-14Splendid, Gruesome, Soul – Shattering and Courageous. A Torch Against The Night is definitely way better than An Ember in the Ashes. Brave, Stunning and Fierce. That’s all that we need to know who Laia is. A sister who wish for her brother’s safety, an ember in the ashes who only yearns for everyone’s peace.

I can’t fathom how I liked this book better than the first installment. I mean, this book made me a complete mess. I could feel pain, tormented, and lost while reading this book. There is so much hope that is clinging on, there are so much past that has yet to be discovered and there is so much life to look forward to. Sabaa Tahir makes her readers believe that there are no chances even the slightest hope that you could hope for can be diminished instantly. In a glimpse, you will lost with her words that can bring you to another world of ashes.

I was so excited and devastated while reading this book. I can’t comprehend how a human emotion can eat your soul away and harness you to someone you didn’t know existed upon you. I don’t know but I didn’t know that words can this be powerful to the extent that you could feel the pain, the sorrow, the confusion of a character. This is not a simple novel, this is beyond a masterpiece.

“I don’t have allies. I have people who owe me things and people who want things and people who use me and people whom I use.”

If I were going to describe A Torch Against The Night, then definitely, it is explosively beautiful. I can’t even express how I love this book so much that it is tearing my heart out, piece by piece. I don’t even know how I will express my condolences to one character in this book because she quote-for-royaljust had so many sacrifices done that made her someone she doesn’t know entirely. Twisted and foreshadowing is the raw definition of this novel.

A Torch Against The Night tackles a lot of sensitive subject like Violence Against Women and Children which I am fond of. Why? Sabaa Tahir doesn’t intend to write something this murderous and violent but on my perspective, I think this is actually a good example of how to raise awareness on the current situation in certain parts of the world which is existing at this moment. Meaning there are still faith, and if there is a life – there is a hope.

Characters of this book have a huge development. I didn’t expect Laia to stand up for everyone, I didn’t know that Elias could this devoted and loved, I didn’t know athat Helene could take all the suffering and the pain, just for someone she loves – even if it takes the every inch of humanity that she has. My heart cries and bleed for her. It is something to look forward to on the Book Three – what would they become?

The magic system actually is something I am eager to see, to know, to indulge in. It feels like an introduction a teaser upon a teaser. Assuming that there will be more to come in the book three. Sabaa Tahir set high standards and expectations on the third installment. So, I’m going to set my standards really really high because I love this book as much as I enjoy reading it. I hope there’s more to come on the magic system, I am eager to know and I want to be filled in by the questions that have been bugging my mind.

cSpectacular plot. I couldn’t ask for a better plot than this. She knows what was she wanted to write in the beginning and I think, she gives justice to it — she just didn’t give justice to her characters making her an evil sadistic author. I really wanted to talk about the book. I just don’t want to spoil everyone who will be reading this book because I want everyone to feel what I felt during the course of my reading journey. I tell you, this book is so worth it than you imagine.

The ending is truthful and satisfactory. I think that’s the best ending that Sabaa Tahir could offer. Now, I’m really looking forward to Book Three that has yet to be written!

Huge thanks to Penguin Random House for inviting me to join this Global Blog Tour and sending me an ARC copy for giving a pure genuine review. I hope readers around the world will love the series as much as I do!

MY RATINGS: 5 STARS!


For PH readers, you can purchase your books at National Bookstore and For International readers, you can purchase your books on The Book Depository! Happy reading!


Just in case you want to visit the Global Blog Tour, here are the blogs that are participating!


ABOUT THE AUTHOR


7770873Sabaa Tahir grew up in California’s Mojave Desert at her family’s 18-room motel. There, she spent her time devouring fantasy novels, raiding her brother’s comic book stash and playing guitar badly. She began writing An Ember in the Ashes while working nights as a newspaper editor. She likes thunderous indie rock, garish socks and all things nerd. Sabaa currently lives in the San Francisco Bay Area with her family.

Leave a Reply

