Book Review: Milk and Honey by Rupi Kaur

31-odaa7erl-_sx322_bo1204203200_

“People go

but how 

they left

always stays”

Raw, Beautiful, Empowering, Brave and Breath-taking. Milk and Honey is not your ordinary book. It is not a poetry to underestimate with. It tackles feminism and being strong at the deepest core of your feelings. It discusses love and surviving love by yourself. It is pure, enchanting and magnificent all at once.

“can someone explain that. how even when the love leaves. it doesn’t leave. how even when i am so past you. i am so helplessly brought back to you.”

I was hooked by her words that she captures my heart the moment I read her heart. It was painful – so, so painful that I have to take a couple of minute breaks to indulge with suffocating words and yet manipulated by her stunning conscious voice. It feels like I’m listening to a strong advocate who stands to every woman, to every child, to every person who is conflicted emotionally.

aThis book, the poetry make me feels like drowning and drowning by each time I turn the page. The words are precisely combined with honest emotions that could sip most of your happy memories and turn you into a hollow vessel that is swimming through the darkness of tears. As if you wanted to ripped the pages of her book because of the anger, the sadness, the pain, the loneliness, the sorrow that the author portrays with her ink and papers.b

I love it. I love Milk and Honey. It is simply stunning! It captures the real emotion of people when they are being for who they don’t want to be to the person they are willing to be to the person they chose to be even if they are struggling. It indicates the four part process of moving on, whether you moved on or you didn’t — it is all depends on the readers’ perspective. And as for me? I don’t think that’s moving on. I saw it as accepting for who you are, for what had happened and for standing up not for those you love but standing up for yourself.

cRupi Kaur, Thank you. Thank you for your words that can enlighten a lot of people. Thank
you for writing such an exquisite book. Thank you for writing for yourself. I just hope that this love from me can make you smile, even for a while. For more great, poetry!

Simply, Thank you.

MY RATINGS: 5 STARS!

The Book Depository


ABOUT THE AUTHOR


8075577Rupi Kaur is a writer and artist based in Toronto, Canada. With a focus in poetry, she released her first book of prose and poems in November 2014. Throughout her poetry, photography, illustrations, and creative direction she engages with themes of femininity, love, loss, trauma, and healing. When she is not writing or creating art, she is travelling internationally to perform her spoken word poetry, as well as hosting writing workshops. You can find more of her work at www.rupikaur.com

14 thoughts on “Book Review: Milk and Honey by Rupi Kaur

  1. Hello Rafael! ‘Raw’ and ‘brave’ are precisely the words I’d use to describe this book. There’s just something raw and courageous about a woman, or any person, being able to talk about her fears and pains and love in such self-awareness, isn’t there? I can see you absolutely loved this one.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Uhm… Hi, Miel! I’m quite curious if you are stalking me or you are stalking me? Ha! I don’t mind though. I’m glad someone found me and you are another bookish fanboy! To answer your question sarcadtically, No. I don’t love Milk and Honey. I FELL IN LOVE WITH IT.

      I wonder of all my reviews, Milk and Honey intrigued your interest. Anyway, I stalk you back and you have an amazing blog there and I’m following you!

      Like

Leave a Reply

