Book Review: Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon

cover-for-everything-everythingLight, Forgiving, Accepting and Dreaming. Those are some words to describe Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon. From the moment I read the first word of the novel to the last line of the book, I knew that I’m going to like this. However, I didn’t just like it — I loved it.

The way Nicola Yoon wrote this book is kind of witty, cute, and attractive. I miss this feeling. I actually miss reading Contemporaries that can make me immersed wholly in ink and papers. She makes me miss reading love and forgiveness and appreciating the little things of the world has to offer. She embarks the beauty of simplicity and looks at life in such difficult but positive way.

Here’s what I learned from the book:

  • In every decision, you are going to choose. Love your mother (or parents) but don’t limit yourself from loving someone to be happy.
  • Discover the world. There’s another world out there that you haven’t gone to.
  • Appreciates little things, without them big ones wouldn’t be there.
  • Loving someone could lead you to death, not leaving the world but leaving your heart to someone.
  • Deceiving can also mean protecting.
  • Just love. Even if it is painful.

1I know that this book is actually a good and a bad thing. It is good because it discusses love and seeing beyond the surface — doing what you want to do and risking everything for what you want to achieve. Any less, that’s what life really is, right? Nicola Yoon gives us a glimpse of what could have been the meaning of life in different verses and varies parallel stories of what might be. With the lovely character Maddy and Olly, provides us love that is so raw, pure and young. Maybe by now, why in all of this good in a book, there’s a bad thing?2

Any book wouldn’t be good if it’s perfect. And perfect couldn’t only attain if there’s no mistakes and challenges in the process. To be precise, it is not actually that bad. It just loves portrays as an obsession. Instead, love gave you butterflies it becomes a poison that stung and prevent you from seeing the heaven and skies. It became a mission because someone is loving and protecting you without considering your own feelings. It is a devastation but it is a reality that we must accept that everyone has a different kind of love, and everyone has different kind of how to show love.

3Everything, Everything is a different approach to love. It shows unconditional, new found love and most of all the most honest I’ve ever read. I would like to thank JM from Revelations of a Book Freak for pushing and keeps on convincing and insisting that I have to read Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon. And he is right. This book is good as how she shares his feelings.

Now, I’m excited to her next book The Sun Is Also A Star and I really have high expectations because I love this book.

For the meantime, here are some quotes that I really like from this book:

  • In beginning there was nothing. And there was everything.
  • “In my head I know I’ve been in love before, but it doesn’t feel like it. Being in love with you is better than the first time. It feels like the first time and the last time and only time all at once.”

  • For us to have met, to have fallen in love, to get to be together is beyond anything either of us had ever thought possible.
  • It’s soothing to see an entire world at once — to see the pieces and know how it all fits together.
  • “Sometimes you have to leave the people who you love you the most.”

  • I’ve learned my lesson. Love can kill you and I’d rather be alive than out there living.
  • My guilt is an ocean for me to drown in.
  • Wanting just leads to more wanting. There’s no end to desire.
  • We’re all unique and complicated. We can never know the human heart, and all that?
  • “It’s weird to miss something you’ve never had — or don’t remember having.”

MY RATINGS: 4 STARS!

The Book Depository


ABOUT THE AUTHOR



7353006Nicola Yoon grew up in Jamaica (the island) and Brooklyn (part of Long Island). She currently resides in Los Angeles, CA with her husband and daughter, both of whom she loves beyond all reason. Everything, Everything is her first novel.

15 thoughts on “Book Review: Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon

  1. Great review! I’ve actually been thinking of adding Everything Everything to my October TBR since it has so much positive feedback & her new book sounds amazing. Those are some really great quotes btw, only heightens my curiosity 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. LOL I would read ACOMAF 1st, it’s much better than EOS & also to understand why the disappointment of many fans you would have to have read ACOMAF. Either way though, you will realize the issue when you’ve read both 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

