Book Review: No Holding Back by Kate Evangelista

no-holding-back-theheartofabookbloggerThe only words that I could think of to summarize No Holding Back by Kate Evangelista are innocence and tease! I have read No Love Allowed which is the first book and I could confidently say that No Holding Back has a lot of improvement in terms of writing style. I was so immersed in reading No Holding Back that I’m not even aware what time is it when I was closely in the end. And at the end, it looks like I enjoyed it more than I expected.

Let’s talk about Preston and Nathan. Apparently, I am both relatable to the two. One who is so inclined that doesn’t even think about the love aspect of life — is so me. I was so inclined on pursuing my dreams and to be in a relationship with books. On the other hand, the other one is an event planner. I was once in a student council. So, I know how it works to organize a full-scale event. And I tell you, Eleanor is scaaaaaaaaaaary! (That escalated, quickly) Like, she is the oldest hag that you will encounter in real life and she’s like looking at you, intimidating, commanding you with her words. I applaud Ms. Kate here because she nailed back1writing Eleanor’s character! 

The thing is I like how Kate Evangelista builds the characters of the Preston and Nate. They both have different personalities and it seems that they balanced each other out. It is kind of unique because when the two of them are in a scene, I couldn’t get it off in my mind that they are perfect being together. It feels like I’m also on a  tour with them while they stroll, eat food and had their time while reading. I just wish I could go to Europe. Let’s add this to my bucket list.

No Holding Back feels like an introduction on what we will see on the third book or what will happen to Natasha’s story. I think, I could see a little glimpse of that story but that’s one of the things that I am getting excited for! I’ve been wanting to know what happened back2to her and what kind of story that she has. Caleb and Didi also appeared in this book and they doing great. I kind of wanting more of their story. No, scratch that. I’m going to be selfish here, I kind of wanting more of the everyone’s story. I don’t want their story to end yet.

It feels like I want more of Preston and Nathan because of that ending! Holy Guacamole! That’s what you called a major cliffhanger and a major tease! Anyway, what was I like about this book is that it tackles LGBT or same-sex relationships which are being discriminated or most of the time in our country (Philippines). I commend Ms. Kate for having the courage to write this kind of book. I hope that this kind of story doesn’t have a huge negative impact on the society and I also hope that people have an open mind to read this kind of novel.back3

What I learn from No Holding Back is that love can have a lot of definitions – It could be love why the people you love the most is putting a wall between you two, maybe it is for you to keep on focusing attaining your dreams or just someone who is staying on your side is enough or you don’t even know it but appreciation is the least that she could offer but she loves you. There’s many forms of love and Ms. Kate Evangelista just gave her readers more than just one love. That’s what I like about her. She keeps on loving.

MY RATINGS: 5 STARS!


For International Readers, you could purchase your book on The Book Depository!


ABOUT THE AUTHOR


5752810When Kate Evangelista was told she had a knack for writing stories, she did the next best thing: entered medical school. After realizing she wasn’t going to be the next Doogie Howser, M.D., Kate wandered into the Literature department and never looked back. Today, she is a graduate of De La Salle University – Manila with a Bachelor of Arts in Literature. She taught high school English for three years and was an essay consultant for two. Currently, she writes full-time and is based in the Philippines.

3 thoughts on “Book Review: No Holding Back by Kate Evangelista

Leave a Reply

