Book Review: The Universe of Us by Lang Leav

29431081It so happens that I was looking for a light and easy to read when I came across with Universe of Us by Lang Leav. I have high expectations for this book since I was an avid reader of her works. And this book looks like, failed my expectations. I couldn’t get connected with her feelings for the first part of the poetry. However, there are lines that really carved and made me notice and realize that it was painful for me to take.

It was good but I don’t think it was enough for me to feel the pain in compare with her books, Love and Misadventure and Lullabies. I love the two books to the point that I had to stop because the words are making my heart aches which leads to my conclusion that I don’t like The Universe of Us that much.

I commend some lines that inflicted a little bit pain but it wasn’t enough to be connected with the book. I apologize but it looks like this fourth book was not meant for me. I see poems falling apart, being lonely, being alone and left by a lover, being contented and happy but it didn’t give justice to what the other readers are saying about this book. Well, at least I admire the last part half of this book because it was actually better than the first half.

Anyway, here are some quotes that piqued my interest:

  • I would take your hand in mine and tell you, if only you had let me, his is how much I could have loved you
  • The second I tried to tell myself I wasn’t in love was the moment I realized I was
  • “Some people don’t know what they have until it’s gone.” “But what about the ones who do know? The ones who never took a damn thing for granted? Who tried their hardest to hold on, yet could only look on helplessly while they lost the thing they loved the most.” “Isn’t it so much worse for them?”
  • “The sad thing is,” she said, “the moment you start to miss someone, it means they’re already gone.”
  • I loved you once and now I must spend my whole life explaining why.
  • “You think falling in love is about holding on, but it isn’t. It is about hands gripping the edge of the world and letting go, one finger at a time.”

MY RATINGS: 2 STARS.


ABOUT THE AUTHOR


7012565Lang is a recipient of The Qantas Spirit of Youth Award and was later granted a coveted Churchill Fellowship. Her fashion label Akina has achieved critical and commercial success, stocked in key boutiques around Australia and later in cutting edge Harajuku, Japan.

She has completed shows in several cities including Santa Monica for the renowned Copro gallery; who have worked with artists such as Mark Ryden and Audrey Kawasaki. She was hand-picked to exhibit in the landmark ‘Playboy Redux’ curated by The Warhol Museum and Playboy Enterprises; alongside contemporary greats such as Gary Baseman and Tara McPherson.

In 2013, Lang launched her latest book Love & Misadventure, published in the US by Andrews McMeel. The Amazon #1 Bestseller is now available from major bookstores worldwide including Barnes & Noble, Kinokuniya, Fully Booked, Waterstones, Periplus and Chapters/Indigo.

8 thoughts on “Book Review: The Universe of Us by Lang Leav

  1. Interesting.. this is a book of poetry? And it’s yhe fourth, if I’m not wrong. Which is the first? I want to get into poetry and am always looking for recommendations

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

