Bookish Discussion: How do you convince your bookworm friends to read your favorite book even if it was not his genre?

I came up with this question because JM from Revelations of Bookfreak doesn’t like any book that I suggest to him. Same with my friend, Erika from The Nocturnal Fey, who in any way, anytime, never ever read any of my recommendations. Feel me guys? FEEL ME? How sad, right? So, I asked one of my bookish community, Pinoy Book Freaks United, with the question:

HOW DO YOU CONVINCE YOUR BOOKWORM FRIENDS TO READ YOUR FAVORITE BOOK EVEN IF IT WAS NOT HIS GENRE?


  • Joshua: By reading something in his genre in return.
  • Joshua: Bribe with something he loves.
  • Cresel: “I will treat you an ice cream.”
  • Jessa: Shove the book on his face.
  • Jessa: Threaten his life.
  • Francine: Friendship Over or You will read the book?
  • Paula: “I’ll feed you Pizza if you read it.”
  • Sheryl: “I will give them a quote from the book that’s just so good they’d want to read it.”
  • Julie: I don’t. (Aren’t we Kill Joy here?)
  • Jimbo: “Read this book.” In a frighteningly calm voice. Be sure to let him feel the threat.
  • Erika: The more you convince them to read your recommendations, the more it will feel forced. The more forced it is, the more they’ll stay away from it…You’re putting too much pressure. But if you just recommend whatever book you want them to read, then give them the “time”, let them read it in their own accord, it would be more enjoyable.
  • Timotheos: Recommend the book in a simple way.
  • Hyacinth: “I will talk about it all the time.”

Yep! I think, Erika nailed it. She’s an expert like that. I know. I know. Readers like me want to talk about their favorite book. The reason why I want people to read my favorite book which is by the way — Omnilogos by Michele Amitrani, is that — I don’t have someone to talk to about the book! This is why it is really difficult to fanboy over an indie book.


WHAT BOOKISH DISCUSSION SHOULD I ASK NEXT?

12 thoughts on “Bookish Discussion: How do you convince your bookworm friends to read your favorite book even if it was not his genre?

  1. You’re right which is to say Erika’s right. 🙂 This is why I’ve given up trying to convince my family & friends that Herodotus et al are really exciting and started blogging instead. And look where it led me! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Kinda nagtatampo because I read Omnilogos and na and you won’t fangirl/boy with me. Anyway, I agree with Erkuh too. You cannot “force” people to read what you read because we all have different genres and moods, and let it be. Eventually, they will also read whatever you want them to read.

    (Also, why didn’t I saw this? And you should linked PBFU here. Lol)

    See you Oso!!! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I remember forcing my friend to read Cinder, even though she was not fond of reading that genre, I practically just talked about it to her everyday! Because I badly wanted someone to fangirl with in real life. But I agree with Erika, because obviously my tactic didn’t worked. 😂😂😂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. If it’s not something I know I’d like, or be interested in, say a Western, for example, there is absolutely NOTHING anyone could do to get me to read the book. I have far too many books that I can’t wait to read, piled up around me, to waste time reading something that is icky. LOLOL If I don’t feel it, I don’t read it. I don’t care what other people read. We all have out pages to flip and they only flip for those who love them.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Sure, I take recommendation, but I’ve been reading since the day my mom had me and I turned around and said, “WHY DIDN’T YOU GIVE ME ANY BOOKS?” She said it was too dark inside her, so I felt that I had to make up for lost time, if you know what I mean. Anyway, I KNOW what I like, but I am willing to try new things all the time. If I don’t like a book by page 27, I’m finished reading it. I really do have stacks and shelves of books that I want to read, so I never waste any time with something that I don’t find fabulous. 🙂 This is such a fun question. Thank you.

    By the way…I recommend The Nightside books, by Simon Green and The Dresden Files (gets better and better), by Jim Butcher. I like books on Physics, I’m in love with Richard Feynman (I do know he’s dead, but still), and pretty much anything about Paris. Don’t like westerns, the time or place and I worry about the horses and the Native Americans. I just don’t like that time period at all. If the the female roles in a book are yucky, or weak, yeah, no way. I like women to be tough and amazing. I read a lot of non-fiction. Love the Lost Generation, in Paris, of course. Been to Shakespeare & Co., twice (sigh) but have no interest in Shakespeare (his sister wrote everything anyway). Read books about art. Don’t understand why some books get any stars at all, let alone 5, but we are each unique in everyday. People actually liked the Paris Wife, so…there is that. I like books about bookstores, some of them anyway, radical feminism, Poetry Slams, you know…lots of fun stuff. Don’t read horror, or stuff with lawyers, but LOVED Harry Potter. Most definitely. 🙂 I’m reading 5 books right now (I leave them in different rooms so I always have something to pick up when I’m walking around. Stop read for a bit, then move on. Five books and one on my Kindle. How incredible is it to be able to read? IKR? The best thing ever. Recommendations alway welcome. 🙂

    Like

    • Wait! This is too overwhelming. I understand you from the beginning and would love to check out those book recommendations! I think, I would enjoy your recos since you have a passionate, complex and interesting point of view.

      Like

Leave a Reply

