15 Authors Who Have Influenced Me

I’ve been tagged by Anna Urquiola Green to do this list. I have a unique list of Authors Who Have Influenced Me and I’ll describe or explain how, when or where they influenced me as a reader and as a person.

rick_riordanRick Riordan will always be on the top of my list. I was a reader back on my childhood days. I love to read everything my hands would grab on. I’m not aware back then but it is one the things that I love to do. Way back in my high school days, I was introduced to Rick Riordan. Specifically, his Percy Jackson and The Olympian Gods Series, I never imagine that I would be so inclined with that book. Picture this out: Even in midnight, I’m still reading the series. And that midnight? There was no supply of electricity. And I couldn’t put the book down. That was then my mother banned me from reading the book by confiscating them. Anyway, she couldn’t do anything. I was a fast reader back then. I read three books a day. And yes, it is difficult to believe but it was true. In the morning, I can imagine the characters are living within me. I remember having a dream with the characters of 39 clues which, I started when my mother confiscated the Percy Jackson series. It’s Rick Riordan and you read everything he writes.

“Bob says hello,” He told the stars.
The Argo II sailed into the night.”

Rick Riordan, The House of Hades

566Paulo Coelho is intimidating — more like his books are intimidating. I always hear my friends recommending him anywhere and with his book, The Alchemist. And I was like, “yeah.yeah..yeah… I know.” but I didn’t indulge myself with his book. Okay, I agree with them that The Alchemist is a good book but I wouldn’t say that it was one of his best. I still prefer his book Adultery. Paulo Coelho is compelling. He knows how to make his book stand out with everyone else. He inspires you with his words and made you realize that there’s more to life than what you are having now. You’ll never know that you were captured by his books. I would totally recommend Adultery and Veronika Decides to Die by him.

“Sin was not created by God; it was created by us when we tried to transform what was inevitable into something subjective. We ceased to see the whole and came to see just one part; and that part is loaded with guilt, rules, good versus evil, and each side thinking it’s right.”

-The Spy, Paulo Coelho

mitch-albomMitch Albom is one of my favorite authors! It started (again) on my high school years. It was the days when the teachers wanted her students to submit a book report and my sister doesn’t want to read a book. So, I ended up doing her book reports and that’s the time that I was introduced with Mitch Albom. His’ Tuesdays with Morrie. It was a mixture of emotion. I learned a lot with Morrie while reading the book.

“All humans are musical. Why else would the Lord give you a beating heart?”

Mitch Albom, The Magic Strings of Frankie Presto

711u-qk2q5l-_ux250_Kim Holden fascinates me. Her book, Bright Side was a recommendation by a friend. Back in 2015, I only read the book that will pierce through pain, emotionally. The Author herself is a manifestation of a kind and pure soul. She loves to hug people and love to stay positive despite on everything. And you can see it on her books too. Bright Side made me hate life less than I used to. I just know that you’ll just love her books just I loved them like how I love Kim Holden, herself!

“Don’t judge each other. We all have our own shit. Keep your eyes on yours and your nose out of everyone else’s unless you’re invited in. And when you get the invitation, help, don’t judge.”

Kim Holden, Bright Side

colleen-hoover-408567071_bannerColleen Hoover is the author that really made me hooked into Romance. I read Romance before — Jennifer Smith and John Green — but I didn’t really enjoy like how I enjoy my experience with Colleen Hoover. I never knew that it was a New Adult genre and it seems that it was my genre after all. I love how she constructs her words, how she includes different concepts with her books. So far, Slammed is always on the top of my list when it comes to her.

“Just because someone hurts you doesn’t mean you can simply stop loving them. It’s not a person’s actions that hurt the most. It’s the love. If there was no love attached to the action, the pain would be a little easier to bear.”

Colleen Hoover, It Ends with Us

christine2Christine Brae is one of the most generous and appreciative and stunning women I’ve known! Her books taught me that even the simple form of love can ruin you along the way. I had a chance to talk to her and to interview her and do you know what I felt when reading her answers? Surreal. Inspired. Overwhelmed. It was one of the purest forms when a person touches your heart through words. That was her. She was the kindest among I’ve known and I know that she will be loved along the way.

“Remember that the mind is a powerful thing. You can convince yourself of anything. But at the end of the day, it’s your heart that you have to contend with. It doesn’t bend as easily as your mind.”

-In This Life, Christine Brae

3433047Sarah J. Maas‘s books really had an impact on my reading. I am a fan of hers and I love her books. Her books made me think outside the box, out of my comfort zone. Celaena, her character, made me see the foreshadowing of life with little glimpses of actions. I wish I met her when she had a signing here in the Philippines.

“We all bear scars,… Mine just happen to be more visible than most.”

Sarah J. Maas, Throne of Glass

8160011

Michele Amitrani is one of those rare authors who are male and both at the same time has a male POV characters with their books and a Science-Fiction as a genre! It is surely one of my rare gems finds when it comes to a book. What really struck me with his books are his life teachings and how he tried to explain the concept of his book in the simplest way by using word play and putting teachings with his words. It feels like everything that he writes in the book is simply his character. And I just liked it. His book is one of the books that I wished I could read for the first time.

“Sometimes the final victory cannot be obtained without a calculated number of losses. A strategic retreat can sometimes be the best alternative to avoid total defeat.”

-Omnilogos, Michele Amitrani

ineruda001p1Pablo Neruda is my favorite poet! I never knew that I will both fall in love and hurt with his words. You could feel his longing and sorrow into his poems — devastating yet beautiful. Signifies the true meaning of life.

Because on nights like this I held her in my arms,
my soul is lost without her.

Although this may be the last pain she causes me,
and this may be the last poem I write for her.”

Pablo Neruda

71dsjtqhmpl-_ux250_Brandon Sanderson will blow your mind off with his books. One of the best things that happened in my life by reading his books. Not yet all but some. He will never fail you to be amazed and to look forward to his next books. I couldn’t describe how indescribable his books are but I tell you. Prepare your mind to be mindblown. I was influenced by his captivating writing style and unexpected plot twist. It will make you think to go out of your comfort zone and try everything that you could even if you don’t want it. You’ll learn from his books – a lot. Manipulation is his best asset. At least, that’s what I think.

“Sometimes, son,” my father said, prying my fingers free, “you have to help the heroes along.”

Brandon Sanderson, Steelheart

romina-russell

Romina Russell shaped my fantasy and science fiction craving when it comes to her Zodiac Books. I love her books as much as I love her. She’s so kind that she even sends a lot of love overseas! I discover her when I read Zodiac a few years ago — it captured my heart. Reading her book makes me be aware of what I want in life. I learned a lot of lessons from her books. I love Sage Ferez when he is giving his life Philosophies, Miss Trii and Lord Neith for their unusual and brilliant thoughts. Romina taught me that there’s no border between a reader and an author. You could both be a human being, a friend at the same time. No barriers. You can just love because you have a certain point of interest. I love you, Romina!

“Sometimes the best way to love someone is to let them go”

Romina Russell, Wandering Star

Mia Asher greatly influenced my thinking when it comes to love. She writes openly and very westernized book or what we easterners call liberated book. I don’t mind it. I once read Arsen and the book, specifically, the author taught me that there’s a lot of kinds of love and not all the love that you wanted will be the way it is. A lot of times, love is complicated. It will tear you apart, break you into pieces and often times, it will crash you to the point you don’t want to love. Mia Asher portrays the biggest heartache that I could ask for her books. It was devastating but I love it because it was so realistic that I grieve for the characters. Decisions may not be the best executed but what if even if you try to avoid it, that is the only outcome? Thank you, Mia!

“Sometimes not being in control, not being able to think, just losing yourself in the moment, is the greatest feeling in the world. It’s liberating. It’s addicting. It’s the most powerful high you’ll ever get. It’s a kind of freedom that tastes so sweet on your palate that you can’t help but want more each time you have it.”

Mia Asher, Arsen: A Broken Love Story

cynthia_hand_2014Cynthia Hand is a YA Contemporary Author that really struck into my mind because of her book The Last Time We Say Goodbye. I love it. It tackles suicide in a very different perspective and very timely for its awareness. Aside from 13 Reasons Why by Jay Asher, this book literally nailed the YA stereotyping of love. Grab the book and learn from it. It was beautiful.

“You never know when it’s going to be the last time. That you hug someone. That you kiss. that you say goodbye.”

Cynthia Hand, The Last Time We Say Goodbye

23murakami1_span-jumboHaruki Murakami is an author that I looked up to and the best impression that I could offer is that he is an idealist and a philosopher. When I am reading one of his books, I could feel the depth that he sees through life. You could just dive in into his world and books and lost your way through because the information that you’ve been reading. As if, in those moments you are living in the past, present and the possible future all at the same time. It was scary but it was magnificent too. You will love Haruki Murakami. And until you do read his books, that’s where you will understand my feelings and thoughts of him.

“One heart is not connected to another through harmony alone. They are, instead, linked deeply through their wounds. Pain linked to pain, fragility to fragility. There is no silence without a cry of grief, no forgiveness without bloodshed, no acceptance without a passage through acute loss. That is what lies at the root of true harmony.”

Haruki Murakami, Colorless Tsukuru Tazaki and His Years of Pilgrimage

mte4mdazndewnjazodm2otqyJack London is the very first author I think — I read a classic from or I don’t know. White Fang is one of his works and I considered it classic. I am so proud that I finish a book that I’m not used to reading. It was great and it teaches me that whatever your race is or whatever your blood line is or your character to the impression of you of others, you can’t judge someone by their physical appearance. They may be scary but sometimes an appearance are just an act of self-defense. They are hurting too at some point, but not all those who hurt are bad. I just love how Jack London writes it and trying to implicate the injustice system of human life.

“The aim of life was meat. Life itself was meat. Life lived on life. There were the eaters and the eaten. The law was: EAT OR BE EATEN. He did not formulate the law in clear, set terms and moralize about it. He did not even think the law; he merely lived the law without thinking about it at all.”

Jack London, White Fang

35 thoughts on “15 Authors Who Have Influenced Me

    • Hi Alyssa! We are very much the same! He’s the one who introduced me to this Mythology thing and if not for his PJO series, I wouldn’t get addicted to reading. I just love him. I need to catch up on his books soon!

      Like

  1. The only two I’ve read are Mitch Albion and Paolo Coehlo. And since I agree wit your critique of both, I will have to start reading the others you list here. I haven’t read much science fiction lately. Maybe I’ll try that first. Thanks for this list!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I totally agree with Mitch Albom his books are always emotional. My personal favourite is One More Day! I just started blogging and I came across this posts, made my day. would love it if you could visit my blog and give some suggestions.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

