Blogger Spotlight: The Nocturnal Fey

Hi, Guys! I would like to introduce to you, my blogger friend, Erika from The Nocturnal Fey! Due to my persistent, non-stop irritating convinving, she agreed to do this Blogger Spotlight Interview! Go ahead and check her wonderful answers.


PERSONAL LIFE

What book introduced you to fiction novels? Can you name 5 of your favorite books or series?

  • I was never a reader back when I was a child, which was a big letdown when I was old enough to realized how I missed so much things as a child compared if I was a reader. I only have those Disney story books, and classic fairy tales. But I don’t think I’ve ever paid attention to the written texts, but only to the visuals/illustrations. Basically, classic fairy tales like Cinderella, Rumpelstiltskin, Alice in Wonderland, etc, are the ones that introduced me to fictional world. But the first fiction novel, I’ve ever read was Harry Potter and The Sorcerer’s Stone.
  • The Iron Fey series by Julie Kagawa
  • The Lord of The Rings by J.R.R. Tolkien
  • Air Awakens series by Elise Kova
  • The Malediction Trilogy by Danielle L. Jensen
  • The Sea of Tranquility by Katja Millay

How did you start to like reading as a hobby? Do you have any other hobby  aside from reading novels?

  • I was an occasional reader back when I was in 2nd year high school. I was just borrowing books from my friends (Harry Potter that is). Then one day, we were waiting at the mall and I decided to walk for a bit. I went to Booksale and looked around, then, I came across this little novel called Darkfever. It just grabbed my attention for some reasons. There are lots of other novels in there, big, hardcover with beautiful covers, but this creased, yellowed, and small paperback grabbed my whole attention.
  • Then I decided to purchase it because it’s cheap. I wasn’t even sure if I’m going to read it, but when I did, I finished it instantly. Then, I started looking for the sequels. Then, the rest is history. 😀
  • Aside from reading novels, I love to do many things. By many things, I mean, drawing, painting, crafting, baking, singing (I cover songs but they’re exclusively for my ears only. Lol), and annoying my friends online. Oh, and of course, blogging and bookstagramming.

If you are going to date someone, fictional or not, dead or alive, who would it be and why? What are the things that you are going to do on your date?

  • For someone who never dated anyone before, this is a rather easy question. Of course, it’s my elven prince, Legolas Greenleaf. Add Prince Ash from Iron Fey too. And Prince Aldrik from Air Awakens if you may. Oh, and Prince Tristan from Malediction trilogy. I can add some more, but I’d hate to divide my attention even more than this already.
  • I want to do exotic, and dangerous stuff. Maybe we hunt some dragons? Or defeat the evil guys? Then after all the troubles, we can do the fun and romantic stuff. I want to ride a flying unicorn with my date, under the stars, while eating chocolates.

Name some of your favorite authors and give them a brief description of why are they your favorites. 

  • You know it’s difficult, why’d you ask?! Just kidding. Haha. Okay, I don’t I still need to give a description for Sir J.R.R. Tolkien. He’s a legend! Then, Julie Kagawa – she’s the author of The Iron Fey series. She’s responsible for making me like faeries, and for making my blog name like this.
  • Then Elise Kova, the author of Air Awakens series. I discovered her when she’s still an indie author and she’s one of the nicest and one of the most amazing authors I’ve ever talked to.

If you are going to give advice to your 10-year-old self, what would it be?

  • Hey little kid, I loved how you spend so much time drawing stuff at the back of your notebooks, but why don’t you give reading a chance too? Maybe you can get ideas of who or what to draw after reading a novel, yeah? *whispers* you’ll also improve your grade in English subject when you start reading novels. I know you suck at that subject.

BLOGGING LIFE

What made you start to do book blogging?

  • I discovered the book blogging community in 2014 when I started getting active on Goodreads. Then, I started stalking and reading book blogs. Then, I also began writing short reviews on Goodreads.
  • I actually created my book blog out of impulse. I have this photoblog-sort-of-thing on Tumblr, and I rarely use it, but it has a not-so-bad number of followers. I decided to transfer this Tumblr blog to Blogger, and make a more serious blogsite. By more serious, I mean, writing stuff. Like, real So yeah… it’s the book blogging community and Goodreads which made me start book blogging because I thought they’re inspiring and what they’re doing is fun. But later on, I also figured it out, myself, that this is the perfect way to express my emotions after reading a book. It’s basically my emotional outlet.

What was the most difficult part of book blogging?

  • Time management. After graduating college, I realized how much time I had back when I was still studying. When I started working, blogging and reading became luxurious activities for me (time and financially speaking lol). Because my current work also involves writing stuff, it mostly eats all my time, and I usually work at night/midnight. So, during the day, I’m mostly asleep, or it tires me when I start thinking and writing again. I mean yeah, this is why I salute authors! I don’t think I’ll ever be an author. Haha *cries in the corner*

Interacting with people from different places, virtually, how did you gather so many followers? If you have one thing to thanks to thank your followers, what would it be?

  • Personally, I don’t think I have that many followers, if we’re talking about my blog. Also, I’d like to call them readers instead of followers… just because. So yeah, compared to other bloggers, I think I’m doing just fine but not to be labeled as someone with many followers. But, as to how, I don’t really know. Someone told me before that she likes the way I write reviews because, it feels like I’m just chatting with someone. Maybe that. Or if in terms of technology, I think social media also has a lot to do with it. I’m a bookstagrammer, and I have more followers (it’s Instagram ok, dunno other terms for followers lol) in Instagram so I take advantage of that to promote my blog. One thing I’ve learned from my current work, is that social media has been playing a big role in the digital marketing scene in the recent years.
  • To my blog readers and social media followers, thank you for staying with me, for keeping up with my awkward jokes, for reading my contents, and for just being there in general. I created my blog and social media accounts initially for myself, but when I started to get recognition from other people, I had another reason to keep things going on.

What do you think is the disadvantage of bloggers?

  • So far, all I’m getting from blogging are advantages. For people who would say that it’s eating up time, or it’s distracting them from their other purpose in life, I don’t see the point why they started blogging if they’ll see it as a disadvantage.

Mention some Book Blogging Friends that you would love to see in person!

BOOKISH LIFE

Name some favorite book of yours according to your genre preferences.

  • Fantasy
    1. The Iron Fey series by Julie Kagawa
    2. The Lord of The Rings by J.R.R. Tolkien
    3. Air Awakens series by Elise Kova
    4. The Malediction Trilogy by Danielle L. Jensen
  • YA Contemporary
    1. The Sea of Tranquility by Katja Millay
  • New Adult Urban Fantasy
    1. Fever series by Karen Marie Moning
  • NA Contemporary
    1. Attachments by Rainbow Rowell
    2. Suddenly Royal by Nichole Chase

How do you pick the books that you are going to read next?

  • Before, I’d just do it randomly. Now that I’m blogging, I prioritize books that I have to review.

SHOW US YOUR BOOKSHELF! Describe it.

img_0678

  • It’s white… and simple. It’s the first thing you’ll notice when you enter my room (or at least most of the time, based from the people when enters my room. Lol)

What are the books and who are the authors that influenced you as a reader?

  • My answer to these will be pretty much the same as my answer to favorite books and authors.

What is your one ultimate favorite quote from a book and why?

  • This one from Elise Kova’s Fire Falling… I don’t know. It just stuck in my head after I read the book.

THE NOCTURNAL FEY


dsc_1743-2The Nocturnal Fey is a book blog run by Erika — a self-taught freelance digital artist, and a content writer from the Philippines.

A very random individual who believes that she was a winter fey in her past life, who eventually evolved into a Windwalker sorceress and got bonded with a Troll prince.

Seriously.

One thought on “Blogger Spotlight: The Nocturnal Fey

  1. it’s always fun to hear about the lists of stats and their descriptions. like should really be a combination of hey, saw this… which usually means moved on but didn’t want you to feel i said nothing and ignored you. 😀 followers – oh yeah, I’m so followed, if I stood up with my x numbered audience, it’d be to a war of one but if it were a dinner party…. well I best cook more. I would use decipherers for my particular world too 😉 but its about books here so i like me some books. these save tolkien are newer reminders i haven’t read the whole library 🙂 yay!

    Like

Leave a Reply

