Book Review: Poison’s Kiss by Breeana Shields

25081261Captivated. Thrilling. Breath-taking (at least the staring part). Is there anyone out there who can relate to me? Damn. Poison’s Kiss is fast-paced and so interesting that I’ve read the book and devour it in just one night! How can I possibly move on from the story when I badly need the second book, right now?! Ahhh. Breeana Shields has a magical touch in her hands. She writes so well that I was compelled by her words. Every chapter is to look forward to. What will happen next? What revelations might occur? Are my predictions correct? Apparently, they are not.

As for the character, I like her – I come to understand where is she coming from and I love how innocent she is when it comes to love. What do you call to those who are innocent in this aspect and so mature when it comes to making decisions? That’s who Marinda is. What really drove her motivations is her false beliefs and her brother, Mani. And Mani! My goodness. This sweet and cute little child. I love him in every aspect of this book. Without him, Poison’s Kiss wouldn’t be perfect as it is. Don’t you ever kill Mani, Breeana! I won’t forgive you! I tell you!

A boy lost in a book is the best kind of advertising.

This book is really on point and direct – you can already tell who is the side characters and the love interest. Which is really good because, at this point in time (or just the moment I read Poison’s Kiss), I am not really looking forward to reading love triangles. Maybe on different authors, but not on this one. Which am I approved of the ship! Marinda and Deven. My heart flutters! It feels like I’m reading a novel based on Indian Folklore but with a touch of Shakespearean Play, Romeo, and Juliet. Yes, you read it right. Romeo. And. Juliet. At this point, I know you have a glimpse of an idea of which sides is Marinda and which side Deven belongs to.

Suspicion is the only defense against betrayal.

What really attracted me to read this book is knowing that there will be four mythical creatures who guarded their land. We’ve encounter two of them. And I’m really looking forward to encountering the other two. It is magnificent and interesting. This is my first time to encounter this kind of culture in a book which is intoxicating – in a really really good way. I am expecting a lot from the second book. I want more manipulation and devastation. I want to see more fighting. I hope this debut novel will make readers read more of Indian Mythology. It is pretty interesting. I want to know more through this author.

Fear is the fuel of bravery.

Poison’s Kiss captured the little-detailed pleasure of what my heart wants and I’m really looking forward to reading the next installment. I am saddened that this book is planned as duology but I assure you, I will be supporting Breeana Shields from here henceforth!

MY RATINGS: 4.5 STARS!


ABOUT THE AUTHOR


13582922Breeana Shields graduated from Brigham Young University with a BA in English. Her debut young adult fantasy, POISON’S KISS, will be released from Random House in 2017, with a sequel to follow in 2018. When she’s not writing, Breeana loves reading, playing board games and spending time with her husband, three children and an extremely spoiled miniature poodle. She lives in the Pacific Northwest, where it drizzles, rains or pours nine months of the year, but then transforms into paradise during the other three. She’s willing to make the trade-off.

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Poison’s Kiss by Breeana Shields

Leave a Reply

