Interview with Breeana Shields

  1. I believe, this is your first debut novel, right? How does it feel to publish a book?

Yes, Poison’s Kiss is my first book and it feels amazing (and a little scary!) to finally have it on shelves and available to readers.

  1. Has it always your dream to become an author and write about Indian Folklore?

I’ve wanted to be a writer since I was in fourth grade. The Indian folklore part came much later.

  1. What do you think that made you attracted and piqued interest about Indian Mythology to the point that you’ve read a lot of references and combined those ideas by building another version of your own world with the touch of the reality’s fascinating ancient stories?

I was listening to a lecture on espionage when the professor mentioned one little snippet about Indian folklore that made my imagination take off. I couldn’t stop thinking about it and before I knew it, Marinda was a real character in my head and she was pretty insistent that I tell her story.

  1. Has been your dream to become an author since then or how did you get to this point?

Yes, becoming an author has been a lifelong dream for me, but it took a lot of work to get to this point. I wrote one other book before Poison’s Kiss that got really close to getting an agent but wasn’t quite ready. It was disappointing, but I’m so glad I didn’t give up. Breaking into publishing is hard, but if it’s your dream, you’ve got to have enough tenacity to keep going. Most authors I know haven’t published the first thing they’ve written. (I know of one author who wrote 20 books before one sold!)

  1. Why do you think most of the authors write in a female point of view instead of male’s perspective? I’m not against with that but through observations, I think most of the Young Adult books today is in female’s point of view.

This is a great question! Maybe it’s because there are more female authors writing YA than male ones, and so that tends to the skew protagonist count more female. I love a great male protagonist, though!

  1. Will we be seeing more of the four mythical creatures at the next installments of your book?

Yes, most definitely! I have lots of secrets to reveal about them!

  1. How many books do you intend to published after Poison’s Kiss?

Poison’s Kiss is a duology, so there’s one more book in the series and then I’m turning to another book set in a totally different world that I’m very excited about.

  1. Random Question: Top 5 favorite foods. Pizza is excluded.
  • Spaghetti
  • Baked potatoes with sour cream
  • Tomatoes
  • Tacos
  • Lasagna

Yes, I basically have the palate of a child.

  1. Describe in 10 words what readers like me should expect in the next book?

Espionage, romance, danger, heartache, secrets, lies, big reveals, betrayal, and suspense.

  1. What is your favorite quote from your book, Poison’s Kiss and why?

“On the day I was supposed to kill him, he was memorizing the things that I love.”

It’s my favorite because I think it captures Marinda’s struggle—she’s so isolated and lonely, but her circumstances make it impossible to be close to anyone.

  1. Can you name some books and authors that influenced you from being a reader back then and author today?

Growing up, I read all kinds of books, from the Ramona books by Beverly Cleary to horror novels by Steven King.  I was reading constantly—everything I could get my hands on, including the backs of cereal boxes, and all instructions on the shampoo bottle. More recently, some of my favorites are Leigh Bardugo, Marie Rutkowski, and Mary Pearson.

  1. If you are going to date someone, fictional or not, dead or alive, who would it be and why? What are the things that you are going to do on your date?

It would have to be Mr. Darcy and if we’re staying true to the time period, we’d take a stroll around the garden while exchanging witty banter and then read quietly by the fire.

  1. If you are going to give advice to your 10-year-old self, what would it be?

I’d tell ten-year-old Breeana that there are only a handful of people in the world whose opinions of you really matter. And once you figure out who those people are, they are the only voices that you should allow in your head—all the others have the potential to either make you feel worthless or conceited, and both are a distortion of reality. I’d also tell her reconsider her hairstyle.


Thank you so much, Breeana! I love reading your wonderful answers! And that advice to your 10-year-old self. Wow. Just wow. You are simply amazing.


ABOUT THE AUTHOR


13582922Breeana Shields graduated from Brigham Young University with a BA in English. Her debut young adult fantasy, POISON’S KISS, will be released by Random House in 2017, with a sequel to follow in 2018. When she’s not writing, Breeana loves reading, playing board games and spending time with her husband, three children, and an extremely spoiled miniature poodle. She lives in the Pacific Northwest, where it drizzles, rains or pours nine months of the year, but then transforms into paradise during the other three. She’s willing to make the trade-off.

One thought on “Interview with Breeana Shields

Leave a Reply

