Blogger Spotlight: Literary Hues

I would like to welcome, Sayyeda from Literary Hues who love cosmetics and books both at the same time.



PERSONAL LIFE

What book introduces you to fiction novels? Can you name 5 of your favorite books or series?

I started reading at a very young age, the first book I remember finishing was Alice in Wonderland. From there I got into the wonderful world of reading.

Top five books or series? Let’s see.

  1. The Book Thief by Marcus Zusak. My favorite book of all time.
  2. A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness. This hits close to home so much.
  3. The Shadowhunter Chronicles by Cassandra Clare. Honestly, I love reading about the different generations of Shadowhunters. That world is just too good to let go.
  4. Dangerous Girls by Abigail Haas. This is a recent favorite, but it’s so good! Probably my favorite YA thriller at the moment
  5. The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer. Her futuristic spin to popular fairy tales is amazing. I love how she has a series full of diverse, bad ass females.

How did you start to like reading as a habit? Do you have any other habits aside from reading novels?

I guess it just became a habit because I wanted something to keep me occupied. We didn’t have cable nor the internet back in high school so I resorted to borrowing books from the school library. Other habits I suppose include bullet journaling and drinking (hella sweet) coffee.

If you are going to date someone, fictional or not, dead or alive, who would it be and why? What are the things that you are going to do on your date?

This is tough oh my god haha. Will Herondale, or someone like him. Sassy, funny, loves reading, cultured, cute as heck. Go see a play, then head to a park right after and grab some ice cream. I’d love to get to know him more and talk about anything and everything.

Name some of your favorite authors and give them a brief description of why are they your favorites. (I know that this question will be difficult, feel free to answer as many as you want!)

  • Sarah J. Maas. I love how she has bad ass female protagonists, but she doesn’t portray them as Mary Sue types. Feyre and Aelin are both flawed and can be aggravating at times, but they have awesome development. Her books are very empowering, and I love how a lot of her major characters are also female.
  • I love Marissa Meyer for this reason too. The Lunar Chronicles had a diverse, bad ass group of females. She also goes in depth into the main villain, showing readers that not everything is in black and white.
  • Marie Lu. Her characters are amazing and her books have great world building. She also knows how to end her series with a bang, leaving readers an emotional mess and I love it.
  • Amanda Lovelace. I absolutely loved The Princess Saves Herself In This One. I could relate to most of it, and her works are very empowering too. While she talks about love, loss, and grief, there is also recovering, empowerment, and hope.

If you are going to give advice to your 10-year-old self, what would it be?

Don’t let anyone’s opinion of you affect how you see yourself.

BLOGGING LIFE

What made you start to do book blogging?

Um, you encouraged me to start? Haha. [TRPB: Why would I even ask this? Lol.]

What was the most difficult part of book blogging?

Being consistent in posting, lol. Managing my time between reading, blogging, work, and my social life.

Interacting with people from different places, virtually, how did you gather followers? If you have one thing to thanks to your followers, what would it be?

Memes with a blog linkup, book tags, and bookstagram is a huge help too.

I’d like to thank them for sticking with me until where I am right now, especially when I was just trying to get a grasp of things. Thank them for caring enough about my opinion on books for them to follow me, and for becoming friends with them along the way.

What do you think is the disadvantage of bloggers?

You could get called out by someone whose opinions are not in line with yours. Also from what I’ve seen so far, bloggers tend to have a reputation. Some people wouldn’t trust your opinion as much if they know you’ve been sponsored, or you got a copy of the book in exchange for a review.

Mention some Book Blogging Friends that you would love to see in person!

BOOKISH LIFE

Name some favorite book of yours according to your genre preferences.

For Scifi, Ready Player One by Ernest Cline, The Illuminae Files and The Lunar Chronicles.
For heist, definitely Six of Crows duology by Leigh Bardugo.
For fantasy, ACOTAR, Air Awakens, Shadowhunter Chronicles, and Grisha.
For poetry, Milk and Honey, Mouthful of Forevers and The Princess Saves Herself in This One.

How do you pick the books that you are going to read next?

I’m such a mood reader, I go with what I feel like reading at that certain time.

SHOW US YOUR BOOKSHELF! Describe it.

Oh god, I don’t have a shelf, haha! Imagine a nightstand, now imagine six super tall piles of books on it. I have a mini-shelf at work too, full of books on my TBR, with a few funkos lying around.

What are the books and authors that influence you as a reader?

First of all, Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher was one that influenced me. It taught me to be more compassionate, and to be mindful of what I do and say, and how it could possibly affect people. (That original ending was a bit of a disappointment, though. I felt like it wasn’t necessary.)

The Ruby Oliver series by E. Lockhart was another book I really enjoyed in college. It made me sassier, I think. It was really funny.

What is your one ultimate favorite quote from a book and why?

 “You are not weak. You are not indecisive. You are strong. Fierce. Capable beyond measure.” From The Wrath and The Dawn, Renee Ahdieh

I’m a big fan of quotes that are really empowering, these are quotes I tend to keep in mind when facing huge challenges.


15740920_1407061792637962_8438589329270213327_n

Again, I grab her photo from her Profile Pictures on Facebook. She told me to.

 

Leave a Reply

