Blogger Spotlight: Bibliophile Soprano

Today, we were going to know more about Fay from Bibliophile Soprano. She’s kind and one of the blogger friends who helped me along the way. I would love to meet her again someday! Maybe, we can talk about Brandon Sanderson’s Reckoners Trilogy with a cup of Chamomile Tea. Hi, Fay!


PERSONAL LIFE

1. What book introduces you to fiction novels? Can you name 5 of your favorite books or series?

  • Out of the Dust by Karen Hesse introduced me to fiction, but what got me into YA is The Hunger Games Trilogy by Suzanne Collins.
  • My favorite series aside from THG include The Divergent Series by Veronica Roth, The Under the Never Sky Series by Veronica Rossi, The Immortal Game Series by Ann Aguirre, and The Reckoners Series by Brandon Sanderson.

2. How did you start to like reading as a habit? Do you have any other habits aside from reading novels?

I just love the feeling of getting lost in a good book, so I tend to read a lot especially when I feel alone. I love writing, so I dream of writing a book that people would get lost in.

3. If you are going to date someone, fictional or not, dead or alive, who would it be and why? What are the things that you are going to do on your date?

I would love to meet “The One” (a.k.a. my true love, whoever he is). A simple coffee date would be nice, but I would also like to go on adventures.

Since I haven’t met him yet, turning to fictional book boyfriends would mean choosing Nero Sison (from Beginner’s Guide: Love and Other Chemical Reactions by Six de Los Reyes) as my date. He holds my 2016 award for book boyfriend of the year!

4. Name some of your favorite authors and give them a brief description of why are they your favorites.

  • Veronica Rossi
  • Veronica Roth

These two authors wrote two of my most favorite book series, ever.

  • Jennifer Niven
  • Nicola Yoon

Both Jennifer and Nicola wrote diverse books that I really loved. They have made their marks on my heart.

  • Katie Van Ark
  • Temple West

Katie and Temple are two of my favorite Swoon Reads authors. They’ve become my friends and I’m glad to have known them!

  • Six de Los Reyes
  • Ms. Ines Bautista-Yao
  • Ms. Mina V. Esguerra

These ladies are from #romanceclass, a community of authors and readers that I support. I’ve read their works and loved them! Current titleholder of my favorite #romanceclass book is Ate Six with Beginner’s Guide: Love and Other Chemical Reactions.

  • John Green

Okay? Okay.

5. If you are going to give advice to your 10-year-old self, what would it be?

Read the Harry Potter Series (yes, I haven’t read HP yet!) so you can avoid the shocked reactions from people who find out you haven’t read the books.

BLOGGING LIFE

1. What made you start to do book blogging?

I wanted to share my thoughts about the books I love. I wanted to let people know about the books that I think they should read. Books change lives and I believe in that so much.

2. What was the most difficult part of book blogging?

The jealousy (with followers, ARCs, and other bookish stuff), I guess. All book bloggers go through that phase, I believe. It’s that time when you doubt yourself and you feel like you’re not good enough because your progress is quite slow compared to other bloggers.

3. Interacting with people from different places, virtually, how did you gather so many followers? If you have one thing to thanks to your followers, what would it be?

Honestly, I think most people found me because of my giveaways. It’s a reality for me, especially with that sudden follower drop after a massive giveaway, but I guess it’s inevitable. And it can bring great things, too. I mostly discover other blogs because of their giveaways, and it led me to meet my blogging friends!

I am thankful for everyone supporting my blog! Especially those who read my posts and comment on them. Your thoughts mean a lot to me!

4. What do you think is the disadvantage of bloggers?

Maybe the overhype for some books?

It’s that thing when a group of friends happens to love a certain book, and those bloggers happen to have a lot of followers, and all those followers go with the hype. It’s not entirely a disadvantage, though because it can boost the anticipation for a book that needs it, but it becomes a disadvantage when members of the book community start seeing a book as overhyped and they end up being disappointed.

5. Mention some Book Blogging Friends that you would love to see in person!

Ate Sai from Literary Hues, Ate Jhed from When Books Defy Gravity, Ate Shealea from That Bookshelf Bitch, Mish from Bibliophile Mish and Ate Nicka from Read by Nicka!

BOOKISH LIFE

1. Name some favorite book of yours according to your genre preferences.

  • Romance -Me Before You by Jojo Moyes
  • Contemporary – Extraordinary Means by Robyn Schneider
  • Fantasy – Summer of Yesterday by Gaby Triana
  • Paranormal – Public Enemies by Ann Aguirre
  • Dystopian Fiction – Divergent by Veronica Roth

2. How do you pick the books that you are going to read next?

Sometimes I follow my reading schedule (especially with ARCs), but most of the time I just read what I feel like picking up!

3. SHOW US YOUR BOOKSHELF! Describe it.

My bookshelf needs more space. It currently has three levels, and the books are arranged according to significance. The most special ones are on the middle shelf. I also consider the sizes of the books in arranging. Sometimes I group the books from similar publishers, too.

4. What are the books and who are authors that influence you as a reader?

All the #romanceclass books and authors are families to me. But the most influential books are the ones that made me cry (e.g. Me Before You) and the ones that changed how I see the world (e.g. Divergent).

5. What is your one ultimate favorite quote from a book and why?

“Just live.” (Will, Me Before You by Jojo Moyes)

I love this quote because it reminds me to hold on and keep on surviving each day no matter how hard it gets. It gives me so much hope.


13592304_1733716390201471_2393663779694126481_n.jpg

 

One thought on “Blogger Spotlight: Bibliophile Soprano

  1. OK let’s get this out of the way *gasp* you haven’t read HP yet? Well I haven’t read all of the books but I’ve devoted myself to seeing at least all of the movies this year from beginning to end so I know and understand all of the Potter references. Other than that, great quote! Simple but effective and I loved the book and the movie of Me Before You! I haven’t read any of these authors yet though so I should really look into them. Great to get to know this blogger some more!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

