Blogger Spotlight: Ikram Reads

I was acquainted with Ikram, when JM from Revelations of a Book Freak and Jasmine from Jasmine Pearl Reads hosted #BlogHop2017 and through that Twitter Chat, I learn that there are a lot of Book Bloggers that are kind and thoughtful! One of them is Ikram from Ikram Reads!



PERSONAL LIFE

What book introduces you to fiction novels? Can you name 5 of your favorite books or series?

Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland and A Series of Unfortunate Events, those two books kickstarted my love for reading in the second/third grade. Alice’s Adventures in wonderland was so weird and an enchanting but an unusual story that I fell in love with it, I probably reread it around ten times that school year. A Series of Unfortunate Events is another one of those weird books, it was so creepy and it really scared me when I first read it, but it was addicting and I’ve been reading nonstop ever since.  In no particular order, my favorite books series are A Court Of thorns and Roses Series, The Mortal Instruments series, Outlander, Percy Jackson and the Olympians and Harry Potter.

How did you start to like reading as a habit? Do you have any other habits aside from reading novels?

When I first started reading around when I was six or seven, so back in the mid-2000’s and there were none of this crazy tech stuff, and everybody had flip phones, (simpler times). My mom thought TV rots children’s brains so we didn’t have one so I went to the next best thing books.  I became obsessed with reading and that’s how I got to where I am today. Other than reading I love watching Netflix and I also write, I’m working on writing a book but I’ve also been writing (bad) poetry for the past 4 or 5 years.

If you are going to date someone, fictional or not, dead or alive, who would it be and why? What are the things that you are going to do on your date?

JAMIE FRASER! Because he looks like this!!!

122c5d09066826bcc59334833f793f37

Umm…I don’t know I’d probably just sit there gawking at him as he spoke in a thick Scottish burr completely entranced.

Name some of your favorite authors and give them a brief description of why are they your favorites. 

Sarah J Maas is a favorite because of A Court of Mist and Fury, nothing else needs to be said. Rick Riordan because I grew up with his books, I started reading the Percy Jackson series when I was in the 3 grade but by then all the books had been out. But he kept releasing one book after another and even though I didn’t grow up with Percy, I grew up with his world and that’s amazing. Cassandra Clare is a big one and is another one who was really influential, because the mortal instrument series made me aware of the giant world of YA, after reading this I read Divergent and Throne of Glass and so many other wonderful books.

If you are going to give advice to your 10-year-old self, what would it be?

Reading is cool!! People who don’t read don’t know what they’re missing.  Keep going strong and don’t worry everything will always end up just fine at the end…mostly.

BLOGGING LIFE

What made you start to do book blogging?

I loved reading other people’s blog and I love Booktube, but the whole idea of videotaping myself wasn’t very appealing, I’m not the most eloquent person. I prefer writing and interacting with people through a scene not face to face…I may be a little shy. 🙂

What was the most difficult part of book blogging?

I think interacting with people, most of the people here have been blogging for years and it is a little intimidating to strike up a conversation with people, but other than that it’s been a breeze so far.

Interacting with people from different places, virtually, how did you gather followers? If you have one thing to thanks to your followers, what would it be?

I currently have 18 followers, I’ve only been blogging for a couple months now, but I am grateful for each and everyone. I love when someone comments and my blogs and we discover that we love the same series or that we have the same feelings over certain books, it’s just great!

What do you think is the disadvantage of bloggers?

I don’t really see any disadvantages, but then again I haven’t been doing this long enough to see any.

Mention some Book Blogging Friends that you would love to see in person!

I don’t really have any yet, but I would love to meet anyone who wouldn’t mind spending hours with me talking about books.

BOOKISH LIFE

Name some favorite book of yours according to your genre preferences.

  • Fantasy: ACOMAF, The Name of the Wind, The Dark Days Club
  • Sci-Fi: Illuminae, Starflight, Cinder
  • Historical Fiction: Wolf by Wolf, Outlander, The Pride of Lions
  • New Adult: The Deal, The Summer Games, Beautiful Stranger, The Allure of Julian Lefray

How do you pick the books that you are going to read next?

I scroll through my TBR list and pick whatever looks good to me then. Every month I usually have a good idea of certain books I want to read and I usually manage to read those books but sometimes a certain book just looks really appealing all of a sudden.

SHOW US YOUR BOOKSHELF! Describe it.

My bookshelf is a bit of a mess now. It’s not that big but it’s jammed pack with books and textbooks and huddled in a dark corner of the room I share with my sister.

What are the books and authors that influence you as a reader?

Lewis Carroll, Cassandra Clare, Lemony Snicket and Rick Riordan all had a hand in developing me as a reader.

What is your one ultimate favorite quote from a book and why?

My favorite quote of all time is one from Alice in Wonderland “Who in the world am I? Ah, that’s the great puzzle.” It strikes a chord in me especially know as a junior in high school I’ve reached that point where the first question anyone asks me is what I want to major in when I go to college or what I want to be when I grow up and I have no idea.


That’s wonderful, Ikram! Thank you so much!

Leave a Reply

