Blogger Spotlight: Tomebound

I’m so glad that Kevin from Tomebound agreed to this interview! Thank you so much to my newly found friend!

PERSONAL LIFE

What book introduces you to fiction novels? Can you name 5 of your favorite books or series?

In childhood, an old friend of mine introduced me to The Magic Tree House books by Mary Pope Osbourne which were just amazing Children’s books. Then as I got older I kind of lost that love of reading until I read the Gossip Girl series by Cecily von Ziegesar (due to the TV show). The five books I can say are my faves are:

  • The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern
  • Sophie Kinsella novels
  • Before Ever After by Samantha Sotto
  • Uprooted by Naomi Novik
  • Crazy Rich Asians by Kevin Kwan

How did you start to like reading as a habit? Do you have any other habits aside from reading novels?

It was the time when I was obsessed with Gossip Girl that I formed that habit of reading every night and falling into the headspaces of these characters that ultimately became the foundation of my love for books and storytelling. Writing is definitely my main creative outlet for years dating back to my scriptwriting days in elementary school. Then upon the invention of Instagram, I have learned to love photography, particularly book photography or Bookstagram. Then lately I have been into watercolor doodling and journaling.

If you are going to date someone, fictional or not, dead or alive, who would it be and why? What are the things that you are going to do on your date?

I would love to have a date with Lara Jean Covey from the To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before trilogy by Jenny Han because I think we are soulmates! She’s so darn cute, lovely, well-mannered, and I feel we have a lot in common. Our date will consist of going to a book or art supply store and I’ll treat her to some stationary (we have that thing in common). Then I’ll take her to a Korean restaurant for dinner and a patisserie for dessert (#CookiesForever)!

Name some of your favorite authors and give them a brief description of why are they your favorites. 

Oooohhh that’s a tough one, but I’ll try to narrow it down:

  1. Sophie Kinsella – she’s one of the very first authors that I became addicted to because her writing never failed to make me smile and laugh out loud.
  2. Kevin Kwan – this dude writes the most outrageous things (in the confines of contemporary, I mean) and he’s funny as heck. He writes about melodramatic situations that poke fun at itself and I love that about his books. He doesn’t take things too seriously.
  3. Samantha Sotto – this lady can seriously write! Her novels are always so well-written and she places these crazy twists that make them even more magical and whimsical! She’s just amazing at what she does.

If you are going to give advice to your 10-year-old self, what would it be?

I would tell him that you shouldn’t be so hard on yourself and to stop comparing yourself to others. Just do the things that make you happy without thinking about the fact that some of your friends are much better at that particular activity.

BLOGGING LIFE

What made you start to do book blogging?

A friend from college actually introduced me to the whole concept of blogging and then one day I just thought of writing a review of a book I read at that time and the rest was history.

What was the most difficult part of book blogging?

Being different. I struggle with thinking about creative ways to make my blog stand out because a lot of things I think have already been done by others. Also, reading/blogging slumps. Those are the worst demons a social media active bookworm can and will ever face.

Interacting with people from different places, virtually, how did you gather so many followers? If you have one thing to thanks to your followers, what would it be?

I honestly don’t know the exact formula to this because I myself am still flummoxed by a number of people that actually followed my social media accounts. So the only thing I can truly say that is relevant to this is to be nice to those people who comment on your accounts.

What do you think is the disadvantage of bloggers?

I think the pressure of just doing the craft. What I mean by this is that regular readers can go about their daily lives without being stressed out by content creation, following statistics, blog graphic design or video editing. They can just read a book and simply recommend it to their friends and loved ones and that’s it.

Mention some Book Blogging Friends that you would love to see in person!

I would love to meet you (of course) because I haven’t seen you in real life. Also, Candy from the Bookish Girl! She lives in Hong Kong but we have been bookish friends since the start of Bookstagram.

BOOKISH LIFE

Name some favorite book of yours according to your genre preferences.

Here they are:

  1. YA Fantasy – Throne of Glass series by Sarah J. Maas
  2. YA Contemporary – To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han

How do you pick the books that you are going to read next?

It all depends on my mood. I am a real moody reader.

SHOW US YOUR BOOKSHELF! Describe it.

I actually have a bookshelf tour on my book tube channel, so if you guys are interested please do check it out.

What are the books and authors that influence you as a reader?

Definitely The Magic Tree House books by Mary Pope Osborne, The Original Nancy Drew series by Carolyn Keene and Gossip Girl by Cecily von Ziegesar

What is your one ultimate favorite quote from a book and why?

“If we accept time for what it is, how it flows and how we flow with it, I doubt very much that we could continue wasting loads of it by constantly checking our watches.” – Samantha Sotto, Before Ever After. This quote just resonated with me because I’m the type of person who is time-conscious. I constantly look at a clock and measure how much time left I have for a certain task, which ultimately makes me feel pressured or dishearten me because I have been unproductive that day. This quote just shook me and made me think about time in a different way. It made me accept that I have to just flow along with time and not be concerned if I wasted mine or not.


ABOUT TOMEBOUND


988865_836433953062085_157732349256610288_nI am Kevin and I’m the quirky weirdo who writes on this literature/book blog named Tomebound. I have been blogging since 2012 and I have been loving every single moment of it ever since.

I am a humongous fan of Young Adult fiction and its corresponding sub-genres. I am an avid fantasy and contemporary reader. I do occasionally venture out of this bubble and I would read an Adult and Non-Fiction book from time to time (you know just to spice things up).

As with all book lovers, I am a bookaholic. I hoard and collect books like I breathe air (and my savings ain’t happy about it at all). I prize them more than jewelry (who needs Cartier when you can read books about people wearing Cartier, you know what I’m saying?), which is why I rarely lend out my tomes to anyone.

Basically, that’s all I wanna tell you about myself (the internet isn’t the safest place in the world) and I hope you guys were entertained by this long About Me page.

Leave a Reply

