Blogger Spotlight: The Ultimate Fangirl

See Bianca’s wonderful answers and nailing my ‘disadvantage-part’ of my questions. Bianca is my newly found friend in Bookish Community that eventually one of my so-close-friend on twitter. I would happily see her in person sometime soon! Let’s hear it, Bianca from The Ultimate Fangirl!



PERSONAL LIFE

What book introduces you to fiction novels? Can you name 5 of your favorite books or series?

I would say that the series that introduced me to reading was none other than J.K. Rowling’s Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone. More on the history later.

If I had to choose my top 5 favorite books/series, these books are on the top of my list:

  • The Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling
  • The Perks of Being A Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky
  • Forgive Me, Leonard Peacock by Matthew Quick
  • The Sun Is Also A Star by Nicola Yoon
  • The Illuminae Files by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

How did you start to like reading as a habit? Do you have any other habits aside from reading novels?

  • I started reading as a habit when I was about 4-5 years old. Both of my parents were avid readers, so they had a big influence on me to read. But the biggest trigger would have to be my mother reading Harry Potter to me as a bedtime story. As soon as I got a tutor, I would convince her to teach me how to read the Harry Potter books. I kid you not, I think that was my earliest memory. Besides reading, my other hobbies are writing, watching a lot of series (usually American, British, and Japanese anime) and video editing.

If you are going to date someone, fictional or not, dead or alive, who would it be and why? What are the things that you are going to do on your date?

  • Hmm, this is a tough one. I love a lot of guys in literature. But if I had to choose, no question that it would be Charlie Kelmeckis from The Perks of Being A Wallflower. We could go somewhere nice like a museum, a library, or a bookstore. Either or all of the three places. I mean he’s a writer, and I’m ambitioning to be one, too. *cries internally*

Name some of your favorite authors and give them a brief description of why are they your favorites. (I know that this question will be difficult, feel free to answer as many as you want!)

  • Becky Albertalli (because Simon VS. The Homo Sapiens Agenda is the best oreo.)
  • Stephen Chbosky (because I just cannot stop mentioning Perks.)
  • Adam Silvera (because he lives off of the tears that I shed for his books.)
  • John Green (because his writing is good)
  • Rainbow Rowell (because she gave birth to one of the books that gave me the inspiration for my internet persona)

If you are going to give advice to your 10-year-old self, what would it be?

  • I hope you keep writing. And also, you’re weird. No matter what everyone says, don’t grow up, okay?

BLOGGING LIFE

What made you start to do book blogging?

  • It was the “summer” before my 2nd year in college and I realized that I needed a platform to talk about books because I was behind everything. I thought that everything was lost because I had no one to talk to in real life about books. I have always thought that I have too many fandoms, so branding myself came in easy. I wanted to know more bookish people.

What was the most difficult part of book blogging?

  • Besides taking a lot of hiatuses? Kidding, haha. For me, the most difficult part of book blogging is getting your ideas straight to the point. There are a lot of ideas that can be manifested onto a blog post, but it takes a lot of sheer willpower to actually get it on the page and publicly share it.

Interacting with people from different places, virtually, how did you gather so many followers? If you have one thing to thanks to your followers, what would it be?

  • When I was starting out, I followed the blogs that I looked up to. Then I commented and read a lot from the wonderful blogs on WordPress, and eventually, I communicated with bloggers through Twitter.

What do you think is the disadvantage of bloggers?

  • Other than the fact that everything we post will be up forever on the internet, typos and all? Speaking in the perspective of bloggers in general, I know I am not the only one with this sort of disadvantage. It is hard to balance two lives at once, especially if the people in your life do not even know what it is that you are doing. Sometimes, it is exhausting. You have to be this person on the internet, the person that you established that behind the name you chose for yourself. At the same time, you have to be this person outside that persona because the majority of the people in that norm do not understand how it all ties together. Why can’t we just all get along and eat chocolate fudge?

Mention some book blogging friends that you would love to see in person!

  • Besides you, there’s Bea from Confessions of a Pinay Bookaholic, Shealea from That Bookshelf Bitch, CW from Read, Think, and Ponder, MC from Blame It On The Books, Maan from The Pigeon Reads, Kate from The Bookaholic Blurbs, Jesselle from The Lifelong Bookworm, and Jasmine at Jasmine Pearl Reads.

BOOKISH LIFE

Name some favorite book of yours according to your genre preferences.

  • Since I mostly read YA contemporary, here are some of my all-time favorites: The Perks of Being A Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky, Forgive Me, Leonard Peacock by Matthew Quick, The Beginning of Everything by Robyn Schneider, Me, and Earl, and the Dying Girl by Jesse Andrews, and Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher.

How do you pick the books that you are going to read next?

  • My brain works in such mysterious ways. And to explain it, here’s a mini-story for everyone.

Me: Hmm, what should I read today?

Brain: Well, what do you feel like reading?

Me: I was thinking maybe I could finally read that book, you know… A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas?

Brain: Good choice!

<a few hours later>

Brain: Feeling the story yet?

Me: Actually yeah! I may actually finish this today.

Brain: HAHAHA. Silly girl! Pick another book to read! You know you can finish both of those in a day.

Me: Okay fine. Let’s pick Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour by Morgan Matson.

Brain: Yes. And after 100 pages, you’ll abandon that one forever too like what you did with ACOTAR.

Me: Of course not. I will finish this.

<a few days later>

Me on Goodreads: So I just finished It’s Kind of A Funny Story by Ned Vizzini…

Honestly Raffy, it amazes me on how I actually finish a book. I often surprise myself with my reading capabilities and life in general.

SHOW US YOUR BOOKSHELF! Describe it.

  • It’s not exactly a bookshelf because I don’t own one yet. J I call it my book stack. Right now my goal is to fill the entire wall of my bedroom with it. Sometimes, I have nightmares that one day it will just collapse because I have too many books.

img_20170123_132439What are the books and authors that influence you as a reader?

  • My main inspiration is Stephen Chbosky. If I would have standards for any contemporary read, it would have to be his work. When it comes to feminism, it has to be Holly Bourne and her Spinster Club series. I’m still on the lookout for a good fantasy book. Recs, please?What is your one ultimate favorite quote from a book and why?

What is your one ultimate favorite quote from a book and why?

  • “We accept the love we think we deserve.”

I will let you guess where that came from.


ABOUT THE ULTIMATE FANGIRL


q0irn07kMy name is Bianca and you have just entered my fangirl-ish space. Any fandom is welcome here. When I’m not posting here, you can expect that I’m participating on fandom stuff or finding new male leads to love.

5 thoughts on “Blogger Spotlight: The Ultimate Fangirl

Leave a Reply

