Interview with Courtney Peppernell

Today, we have Courtney Peppernell as my guest on Author Interview! Get to know her more and indulge on her painful book.

  1. Who or What inspires you to write a poetry?

I actually started due to a long distance relationship. I wanted to show how I felt through poetry and I started posting it on my blog. People seemed to really like what I was writing and so I just kept writing more and more. This went on for about four or so years, despite the relationship not working out. Eventually, I started dedicating my writing to the readers who had supported me from the beginning. People would email me and ask for poetry dedications to give to their partner’s etc. These days my own partner inspires a lot of what I do, however, I am also very motivated by the people around me and the other blogs/social media platforms I follow.

  1. Before you became an author of a poetry book, you’ve been a reader. As a reader what are the books or you could name some that influence you as a writer today.

Perks of Being a Wallflower, Harry Potter, anything by Jodi Picoult, I wrote this for you

  1. If you are going to date someone, fictional or not, dead or alive, who would it be and why? What are the things that you are going to do on your date?

Honestly, I’d date my partner Rhian because she’s also my best friend. Our first phone conversation was actually outside my grandmother’s house in this little courtyard because I was on my way to see my family and Rhian happened to call. So for Valentine’s Day, I set up our date with tables and chairs in this little courtyard and cooked her dinner. It was really nice because I could see how much she loved it. But for fun, I would totally date Asuna from Sword Art Online and team up in Aincrad.

If you are going to give advice to your 10-year-old self, what would it be?

“Confidence Cohen!” – I was painfully shy as a kid,  I really didn’t say very much at all. I would tell her not to be so afraid to put herself out there and have a voice.

  1. Pillow Thoughts is a compilation of love, sorrow, longing and every emotion that makes us a human. If you are going to describe your book in five feelings and emotions, what are they? And why?

Love, encouragement, heartache, loneliness, resilience

These emotions connect as all, and I think if a reader understands that other people feel similar things to themselves, they feel less alone.

  1. Random: Name your top five favorite foods!

Sushi, Butter Chicken, Watermelon, Acai Bowl, Pizza

  1. If there’s one thing that life has taught you, what would it be?

You aren’t going to be happy all the time and life isn’t going to be easy. No matter who you are or where you’re from, you are going to have ups and downs. Don’t compare yourself to others because it’s exhausting, and kindness is easily the most beautiful thing about another person.

  1. Are there any particular songs or playlist that you listen to whenever you are writing?

I listen to City and Color, Amy Shark, Ed Sheeran, The Chainsmokers and Noah & the Whale

  1. What is your favorite quote or line or perhaps a poem on your book and why?

The Looking for Ice Cream poem – the fact most people know the book from this poem really surprised me. This was written in my car on the way home from the grocery store. It was indeed winter and I was there with my partner. I wrote it about her because it was a big moment when I realised that I loved her, but all we were doing was looking for ice cream J cherish the simple moments in life!


ABOUT THE AUTHOR


14250517Courtney Peppernell is a best-selling LGBTQ author from Sydney, Australia. Courtney has been writing her whole life and focuses on Young Adult novels and Poetry Collections. Keeping Long Island is her third title release, and the first under her new book brand, Pepper Books.

Leave a Reply

