Blogger Spotlight: The Queen Reads

The Queen of Book Boyfriends, The Mother of Literature, and an amazing admin of Bookish Pinoy. Have a glimpse of Elena from The Queen Reads about her being a book blogger!


PERSONAL LIFE

1. What book introduces you to fiction novels? Can you name 5 of your favorite books or series?

– I grew up reading romance pocketbooks of my grandmother and basically anything I can get my hands on when I was just a kid. I started out with Choose Your Own Adventure books and Disney fairytales. Believe it or not, my first YA book was Twilight. Which I accidentally picked up in our ancestral house in Zambales while I was on vacation. I remembered not being able to put it down! I guess the young me loved vampires that sparkle ( ps. I still do 😂 )

5 favorite books? Whew, this is hard.

  • Tiger Lily by Jodi Lynn Anderson ( Always )
  •  The Sea of Tranquility by Katja
  • Any Sarah J. Maas book because I’m Fae Trash 😂
  • The Little Prince by St. Antoine Exupery
  • The Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller.

2. How did you start to like reading as a habit? Do you have any other habits aside from reading novels?

– I was an only child for 15 years ( until my brother came along ) I was literally alone, no cousins and kids to play within the household, so I turned my attention to books. As I grew up, I took a hiatus in reading but never stopped. But I became full time focused on books when I broke up with my ex ( ugh I know! ) I read books to escape and I loved it so much. Aside from reading, I love sleeping, singing and sleeping. Haha!

3. If you are going to date someone, fictional or not, dead or alive, who would it be and why? What are the things that you are going to do on your date?

– I have 4 main men on my list. Rhysand, Warner, Khalid and Day. But I have to pick Rhysand ( I’m so sorry Warner! 😭 ). I don’t know, I just love how much he supports Feyre in everything she does and doesn’t treat her like a fragile thing and I want someone like that for me. Not to mention the striking look goods, immense power and massive wingspan ( IYKWIM *wink wink* ). Just simply cuddling under the stars in the Night Court would be awesome. ❤

4. Name some of your favorite authors and give them a brief description of why are they your favorites. (I know that this question will be difficult, feel free to answer as many as you want!)

– Sarah J. Maas – Some may hate her books but damn she writes good books. The twists are amazing. The characters are squad goals. I love her but I’m still saving judgment until she finishes her series.

– Marie Lu, Marissa Meyer, Tahereh Mafi – Love love love their books! Amazing endings that make me bawl and my heart swell.

Jodi Lynn Anderson and Katja Millay – Just because they created my favorite books ever. ❤

5. If you are going to give advice to your 10-year-old self, what would it be?

 – Never stop reading. Even if they said you look like a nerd and kids are supposed to go out and socialize, never stop reading. People go but books stay forever.

BLOGGING LIFE

1. What made you start to do book blogging?

– I started book blogging just because I wanted to keep track of my reading progress. I may have a sharp memory but sometimes some slip my mind and I just want something to look back so I can be reminded of what I have read.

2. What was the most difficult part of book blogging?
– Web site design. Seriously. I am not good at this so I had to keep it simple and readable and that was enough for me.

3. Interacting with people from different places, virtually, how did you gather so many followers? If you have one thing to thanks to your followers, what would it be?

– I started my bookstagram April of 2014 with no clue what the hell I’m doing but now nearing 4 years later, I have met the most amazing people in my life, 2 shelves full of books and I have never been more blessed and thankful.

4. What do you think is the disadvantage of bloggers?

– Deadlines are the death of me. I hate pressure. When the arcs are piling up and you just want to reread your fave book. 😂

5. Mention some Book Blogging Friends that you would love to see in person!

 – Friends from Bookish Pinoys and Pinoy Book Friends United. ❤

BOOKISH LIFE

1. Name some favorite book of yours according to your genre preferences.

Fairytale Retelling – Tiger Lily
New Adult – Everything because this is my guilty pleasure. 😂
Fantasy – Maas books because I am Fae Trash
I recently liked reading Horror and Psychological Thrillers like Goth, Confessions and The Vegetarian

2. How do you pick the books that you are going to read next?

– I read whatever I want when I want it.

3. SHOW US YOUR BOOKSHELF! Describe it.

– As of the moment, It’s color coded except for the series that are on the top shelf. We moved recently so I had to let go of some of them but they are as beautiful as ever. ❤

img_20170114_090528

4. What are the books and authors that influence you as a reader?

– Mostly New Adult Contemporary books influence my view on people and relationships. It made me more mature in seeing how people usually handle situations in books, Even though they are fiction.

5. What is your one ultimate favorite quote from a book and why?

– “You could rattle the stars”
Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas
Empowerment at it’s best.


Rafael: I will not remove the emojis along Elena’s answers. I think you would see what kind of person she is with those Emojis.


ABOUT THE QUEEN READS


img_20170203_145203This is your Queen speaking. If you are reading this then it means you already succumbed to my royal craziness and shall endure it until the end of time. You are very much welcome in my humble abode to share my witty remarks and endless bookish banters. Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Blogger Spotlight: The Queen Reads

Leave a Reply

