Book Review: Boyhood by Charlie Samuya Veric

240016_big.jpgI also acquired this poetry book from Dia Del Libro 2017 event here in Manila. Unlike Poems by Allan Poe, I think, I connected well with Boyhood by Charlie Samuya Veric. I was swayed by his words and I felt nostalgic, growing up and the thoughts of discovering. It felt like I was in a rural and urban all at once. He depicts the nature and controls his words to truly conspire the meaning he wants his readers to see in their imagination. What I felt with this lyric is raw, both pure and impure, self-discovery and finding thyself. I don’t know if I captured the meaning right, how should I put this, but at the end – from every last line, I could feel a longing in there. It was so confessional that I was hooked into it. And my verdict? I found this poetry intriguing and I would love to read more poetries by Sir Charlie Veric. Thank you, Ateneo de Manila University Press!

MY RATINGS: 3.5 STARS.


4272529.jpgBorn in Aklan, Veric was educated in Diliman, Katipunan, and New Haven where he earned his doctorate in American Studies from Yale University. A widely published author, he teaches at the Ateneo.

Leave a Reply

