Book Review: A Gathering of Shadows by V.E. Schwab

20764879.jpgI know. I’m such a reader. After finishing A Darker Shades of Magic, I literally jump into A Gathering of Darkness immediately. Despite on the hurtful, cliffhanger ending of A Darker Shades of Magic, the second installment provides us the huge character development of Lila. Who would imagine that this fair and strong lady is hiding a magnificent ability inside of her? Not just being the best thief of the crew but also the best woman I’ve ever encountered throughout the book.

Captain Alucard also introduces in the second book and I never imagine that I would ship Alucard with Lila. Guys, you wouldn’t imagine how my heart flutters when they are talking! Lila has this kind of way to talk like she was flirting and Alucard has this kind of talking that he is into Lila! I was about to die when I read that kind of part but don’t expect something from both of them because of this two? They are spontaneous and crave knowledge above all. They are both spectacular and mysterious!
I haven’t mentioned that I love Kell’s and Rhy’s Brotherly Love, right? Well, Rhy is a jack-of-all-trades personality, loves by all, and the Prince of Red London. I like him in the book one and I liked him more in book two. Despite everything that happened, Victoria Schwab amazingly crafted the character development of her characters. From their magic to anxieties to personalities to needs and wants. It is overwhelming and amazing.
I’m telling you guys that Victoria Schwab won’t betray you. It feels like I’m watching an anime or a movie on my mind produced by an imagination! It was so realistic!
Trying to put a warning, there are a bit of revelation that you wouldn’t expect. Sometimes, I was so shocked and another time, I was so eager to find out if the questions in my head have the right answer as I go along reading the book. I wonder why or how did Victoria think of the small details and put it as a plot twist. I never expected that her foreshadowing from the previous book will make a huge impact in the second one. Damn, her. She’s that great. I’m going to hail her and will follow her books. This is beyond amazing and I couldn’t get enough.
Guys! You’ll love this book as much as I love it. I hope you had the time to read it and tell me your thoughts! I’m wondering whether should I dive into the third book or not. I wanted to know what will happen next but both at the same time, I’m also afraid what will happen and I’m not yet prepared to say goodbye to Kell, Rhys, and Lila. They’ve been wonderful and I couldn’t say goodbye yet. After all, good books have to end. 

MY RATINGS: 5 STARS!


3099544Victoria is the product of a British mother, a Beverly Hills father, and a southern upbringing. Because of this, she has been known to say “tom-ah-toes,” “like,” and “y’all.”

She also tells stories.

She loves fairy tales, and folklore, and stories that make her wonder if the world is really as it seems.

Leave a Reply

