Book Review: Roar by Cora Carmack

29939048Stunning. Brilliant. Magnificent. I have no words beyond masterpiece to describe Roar by Cora Carmack. It is so beautifully written that I fell in love with the writing style. The world building is too great not to notice and I am definitely want to be in the world that Cora Carmack crafted and build for us. Magically-wise, I was so hooked that I couldn’t believe that the author gave us another fantasy book that covers up the elements of nature in a newly, refreshing grasp of magic and you wouldn’t think that she made an another YA Fantasy look out for.

What amazed me, really, is that the protagonist, Aurora Pavan is not the usual damsel in distress that has to be saved by her prince charming and they lived happily ever after. Aurora is one of the amazing book girlfriend (Yes! I’m also proud to say the first one among the others!) that I’ve encounter, fictionally, that could stand up on her own and prove herself, worthy. I was fascinated that Cora Carmack executed the story very well from how jealous Aurora was to how confident she is. Aurora is bold, clever, surprisingly shy and awkward. Readers would love her personality, her character and how she stands up on her own and don’t give up.

Aurora left what she have in the kingdom to write her own future. While on the journey of finding knowledge, she came across with people she never knew that will have a role in life. There’s Duke, Jinx, Bait, Sly, Ran, and of course, Locke. It is an appraisal that Cora Carmack balances the action, adventure, and the romance! Speaking of romance, I could definitely, honestly say that I’m going down with my ship and I’m such a trash because how could I not ship Aurora with Locke? Even, I could feel the chemistry, the intensity, the wanting, the interest of each other. I mean, where will it take me? I’m just loving it so much that I was laughing and smiling crazily while reading a certain part of the book. Oh, you don’t, Cora Carmack! You’re one witty author. I’m definitely reading more of your works and I’m glad this is my first one of yours and I loved it freakingly!

I would also like to commend that the friendship on this novel is so outstanding. I love how the Duke’s group interacts with Aurora and how they teach her that trust is one of the things that she should learn slowly and it is not that bad to accept them. Also, Cora Carmack shows us that trusting easily and gaining trust are both fragile decisions when making a spontaneous decision but not all spontaneous are bad and sometimes they can also be good. We could definitely see how Aurora or Roar rather, became a new person, a new character of her own path – the character development is so good that I keep on reading and wanting more. I am so looking forward to her improvement all way through.

It fascinates me how Cora Carmack thinks the concept of the magic system of this book because this is the first time in two years that I felt something so good that I don’t want to put down. That, simple as elements but has huge difference from different books and I know how hard it was to conceptualize when it comes to fantasy because there are so much fantasy books out there and Cora Carmack not just gave us something to remember but something we could cherish and definitely love both at the same time. An adventure that we should look forward to!

Roar by Cora Carmack is definitely one of the books that I wouldn’t forget as a fantasy trash lover and this wouldn’t be the only book that I would be reading from her. Obviously, this book touches my heart, whole-heartedly, and this is going to be on the list of my Hall of Books because it deserves a spot! This book teaches us life could be cruel but trusting the right person and making wrong decisions and learning from them, eventually making right decisions will make you a stronger person. It taught me to believe in myself more because who else will believe more than yourself? You. Trusting could be difficult but as our own journey goes by we will know with far greater amount of experiences whom we should dealt with. She also implied that friendship is important to go by, you wouldn’t be where you are now if it wasn’t for the help of the people you’ve been with. Cora Carmack didn’t just gave us any novel, not just only a fantasy book, she implied knowledge on her readers and teaches us values along the way. It is truly mesmerizing. Remarkable even. And with that, I’m ending this book review to you. I hope you grab this book and give this a shot because you might be missing half of your life!

MY RATINGS: 5 STARS!


6535659Cora Carmack is a twenty-something writer who likes to write about twenty-something characters. She’s done a multitude of things in her life– boring jobs (like working retail), Fun jobs (like working in a theatre), stressful jobs (like teaching), and dream jobs (like writing). She enjoys placing her characters in the most awkward situations possible, and then trying to help them get a boyfriend out of it. Awkward people need love, too. She is the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of the Losing It series.

8 thoughts on “Book Review: Roar by Cora Carmack

Leave a Reply

