Blogger Spotlight: Jay G

Today, among my bookworm friends, another BookTuber is rising! Jay G is definitely The Awkward Bookworm! Go check her book tube and you’ll see awkward she is! I’m sorry, Jay! I do love your videos though and stay awkward because it really fits your cute and lovely face. Did I just compliment you? You are pretty, still!

PERSONAL LIFE

1. What book introduces you to fiction novels? Can you name your top five picks?

The House of Night series by P.C and Kristin Cast definitely got me into reading fiction novels! They were the first books I ever really loved and read non-stop. My top 5 favourite books would definitely be Vinyl/Radio by Sophia Elaine Hanson, Dangerous Girls by Abigail Haas, Heartless by Marissa Meyer, Night Film by Marissa Pessel and Identical by Ellen Hopkins!

2. Tell us one story that hinted you that time that you love reading as much as you love it today.

I realized I loved reading when I was around 7 or 8 years old. Every night my Mom would have my brother and I come into her room and read Rohl Dahl books with her while we all cuddled in bed in order to practice reading. My favourite was definitely The Witches! Every night we would take turns reading a chapter to each other. I looked forward to it every night!

3. If you are going to date someone, fictional or not, dead or alive, who would it be and why? What are the things that you are going to do on your date?

I would totally date Jest from Heartless by Marissa Meyer… He is one dreamy guy and who doesn’t love a man confident enough to wear tights 😉 I would ask him to take me to one of The Mad Hatters tea parties!

4. Name some of your favorite authors and give them a brief description of why they are your favorites. 

I think my all-time favourite author would have to be Marissa Meyer. She is the author of The Lunar Chronicles as well as Heartless. I love her writing style and her world building is always so well done. I also love every single one of her characters.

Sophia Elaine Hanson would also be one of my all-time favourites! She wrote the Vinyl Trilogy as well as a short poetry collection called Hummingbird. Her books are full of diversity and loveable characters and her writing flows so smoothly. Honestly, I just find her books addicting!

5. If you are going to give advice to your 10-year-old self, what would it be?

Don’t be afraid to be yourself. Stop trying to be someone you’re not and EMBRACE YOUR AWKWARD!

BLOGGING LIFE

1. What made you start to do book blogging? What push you to do it?

I had been watching booktube channels for about 3 months and I realized that it seemed like something I would find entertaining so I decided to give it a try! I’d always loved reading and none of my friends in real life read so I couldn’t talk to most of them about any of the books I had been reading. I figured I would take to the internet to find others who loved reading and discussing books as much as me!

2. What was the most difficult part of book blogging?

I would have to say motivation is the most difficult part for me. Some days I just don’t feel like making new videos or trying to come up with new content other booktubers haven’t already created.

3. What do you think is your best contribution yet in the community of authors, readers and book bloggers?

I’m pretty proud of my original tag video (The Birth Stone Book Tag) on Youtube! You should all totally check it out 😉

(https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qjb4w4dS94w)

4. When life happens, how do you get back on track on book blogging?

I have a pretty consistent schedule of uploading (every Monday/Wednesday/Friday) so I always try to pre-film my videos for the upcoming week. I also have a lot of “back up” videos I can upload if I’m unable to film videos for the week, that way I’m always able to put something up no matter what is happening in my life.

5. Mention some Book Blogging Friends that you would love to see in person!

Sophia Elaine Hanson of course! Dylan from Dylanthereader5! Sierra Abrahms (author of The Color Project)! Molly from MagicalMolly!

BOOKISH LIFE

1. One thing you are grateful for, for belonging in the bookish community.

I’m so greatful for all the amazing people I have been given the opportunity to get to know through booktube! I’ve made some amazing friends through this community and I love them all to pieces!

2. How do you pick the books that you are going to read next?

I mostly just  pick the next book over on my shelf that I haven’t read… I don’t really have a system to be honest!

3. SHOW US YOUR BOOKSHELF!

This is my “main” bookshelf… but I also have 3 others… Plus A LOT of books shoved under my bed because I can out of room… OOPS!

4. Any advice to those who are planning to establish their own book blog but couldn’t?

Just go for it! It might seem scary at first, but trust me, it’s so worth it!

5. What is your one ultimate favorite quote from a book and why?

“Life is an awful, ugly place to not have a best friend.”
― Sarah DessenSomeone Like You

I don’t know where I would be without my best friend. She is always there when I need her, no matter how far away we are from each other.


It is great to know more about you, Jay! Continue what you are doing and you’ll do fine and opportunities will rise! Thank you for being on my blog and answering my questions! Stay positive!

Leave a Reply

