Interview with Justin Wetch

1. What made you pursue being a poetry writer? I know that you talk this on the last part of your book but when is the time that you decided to be the writer and published a series of poems?

Aside from what I wrote at the end of the book, I had compiled my poetry into a book just for the fun of it about a year and a half before the publication date of Bending The Universe. From there it was revision and editing and writing new poems until it felt done enough to publish.

2. If you are going to date someone, fictional or not, who would it be and why?

I am dating a lovely woman named Halie Hoffman; she is my muse and the light of my life. She inspired the poem “To Love Is To Live”; it was only after falling in love with her that my pessimistic perspective of love began to reverse.

3. Name some authors that influence you for being you today.

Isaac Asimov, Ray Bradbury, Water Isaacson, Orson Scott Card, Kenneth Oppel, Douglas Adams, Kurt Vonnegut, Emily Dickinson, Sylvia Plath.

4. What was the hardest part of writing Behind the Universe?

The hardest part of writing Bending The Universe was in trusting that these things I had written would be of any meaning to anyone besides myself.

5. If you are going to give advice to your 10-year old self, what would it be?

I would tell my ten-year-old self to try harder at math because I was never much good at it.

6. How does poetry change your life?

Poetry is an important form of self-expression and therapy for me. It’s a way to get out my ideas in a way that people will actually care about and also a way to challenge society’s views on things.

7. Random: Top 5 favorite foods!

Meat Pizza, Bacon Cheeseburger, Paninis, Spaghetti, and chicken nuggets.

8. Tell us a story from your childhood that you think the readers would love to know about you! 

One time I broke open a magic 8 ball because I wanted to see how it would tell the fortunes but I just ended up making a huge mess all over the place.

9. Give the best love advice that you could give!

Don’t love someone for how they make you feel, love them for who they are as a person.

10. What is your favorite quote or phrase from Behind the Universe and explain why did you choose it. 

“Love brings the best of highs and also the worst of hangovers” because it is the most quoted line in the book.


unnamedJustin Wetch is an artist, poet, photographer, musician, pretentious egomaniac, and messy-haired fool from Palmer, Alaska. He published this book at the age of 19 while a freshman at the University of Alaska Anchorage. He enjoys artistic endeavors and connecting with people. Justin grew up in Palmer, Alaska where he discovered a love of the arts by appreciating the beauty of Alaska through photography. Justin ultimately hopes to create films.

Leave a Reply

