Book Review: You Bring The Distant Near by Mitali Perkins

51Gvuj5N3tL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_Hopeful. Inspiring. Promising. I didn’t expect that I will be attached to You Bring The Distant Near considering that this book is under YA Contemporary category. Three Generation of women imprinted a powerful lesson in my heart, my mind, and my soul. You Bring The Distant Near had more impact than I expected. It talks about diversity, racism, immigrants, culture, friendship, family, and love. Almost everything was discussed in the book and I find it difficult to believe that Mitali Perkins written the book so well and gave us an amazing novel that had a louder voice.

This book made me feel, made me questions about my beliefs, cultures, and traditions. It speaks so much purity, truth, and rawness of the society. It handles little intricate details of different sensitive subjects that could emphasize in the book. That’s one fo the reasons why I love this book. And it empowers women, women has a louder voice in this book. As a male, I think it is really good to have a woman on your side with a strong personality.

Actually, I really have a hard time reading it from the first page because I was unfamiliar with some words and I couldn’t get through but it didn’t hinder my reading and I ended up reading the book in one day. Let’s put it as the same as how a person having a hard time to believe something he wasn’t used to believing because of cultural differences. What we could be doing here in Southeast Asia could haven’t been practicing in Western countries. That’s another point! Mitali Perkins talked about diversity on his book and how it shows in her book that people have different beliefs and we have to be knowledgeable to understand each other. It could lead to misunderstanding and misunderstanding leads to unfortunate events.

There’s a line that I couldn’t forget in the book but I’m not sure if it was the same but it sounds something like this, how could you respect them if they didn’t respect you? This line? It made an impact on my being. Because it was once my line when I had a hard time last year and it exudes so much philosophy and truth. I believe that no matter what your age is, no matter what your accomplishments in your life, whatever gender you have been classified into, whatever your religion is or your beliefs or where you came from or your nationality, or even a father and a son. Everyone needs respect. If you are an elderly and you think highly of yourself, I think, you better think twice. Why? Because no matter what your status in society, we all deserve respect and you should respect everyone. This is not about authority, this is about respect as a person, not as someone who has a sovereign.

OKAY, ENOUGH OF MY OWN PRINCIPLES. I’m also pointing out the writing style because it is so easy to read. I never had a hard time and it feels like I’m devouring the book  — or did I just devoured it? Tara and Sonia, the two lovely daughters are amazing and lovable. They may be siblings but they shows two completely opposite personalities and it is quite interesting to see their characters along the way and I think, Mitali Perkins gave justice on their developing characters. What stood out to me is their mother’s personality. I loathed her in almost half of the book because she’s a control freak whom I don’t understand where she is coming from. I believe because she has a strong belief regarding on their Indian Culture that has been affected by their immigration on London and now being influenced by American culture. I respect that and totally understand that but how could she control her daughters and give lesser freedom? Their dad is the exact opposite of their mom and the one thing that really touches my heart because I never thought that their Dad would be this understanding and passionate. He loves his family so much and I can see it on his personality while reading the book. I assure you, you’ll love their father too.

Living in different traditions, adapting in a different environment, adjusting to a new social circle. I really find it hard for the characters because even if I were in their position, I would definitely get tired at some point. I appreciate their driving force to live the life they wanted. What amazing about this novel is it stays original, authentic and natural. I love how it was composed and written as good and I never read something like this before. It also talks a lot about perspective in life. For being an immigrant, for being who you are, for being both of among the two, for being black, and for choosing what makes you happy.

You Bring The Distant Near is a satisfactory and compelling read. I really enjoyed it a lot more than I expected. I took a liking to this book because it just has a little amount of everything – little amount of life that really makes what a person is. Diversity, from culture shock to culture difference to culture adaptations, racism, acceptance, and loving are just a few to mention that you could find in the book and it way more outstanding if you read the whole book because it really speaks for everyone. I hope, I just hope that You Bring The Distant Near is one of the first novels that speaks to their readers and made the world a happier place.

I would like to end my book review with a quote from the book that I shouldn’t be posting because it wasn’t yet a finished copy but because I love it, here you go:

“Novels change hearts, though. And minds.”

MY RATINGS: 5 STARS!


4-up on 9-18-13 at 12.18 PM #5 (compiled)Mitali Perkins (mitaliperkins.com) has written ten novels for young readers, including Rickshaw Girl (chosen by the New York Public Library as one of the top 100 books for children in the past 100 years) and Bamboo People (an American Library Association’s Top Ten Novels for Young Adults) Her newest novel, Tiger Boy, won the Charlotte Huck Honor Award and the South Asia Book Award. She has been honored as a “Most Engaging Author” by independent booksellers across the country and selected as a “Literary Light for Children” by the Associates of the Boston Public Library. Mitali was born in Kolkata, India before immigrating to the Bay Area with her family. She has lived in Bangladesh, India, England, Thailand, Mexico, Cameroon, and Ghana, studied at Stanford and U.C. Berkeley, and currently resides in the East Bay where she is an Adjunct Associate Professor at Saint Mary’s College of California.

4 thoughts on “Book Review: You Bring The Distant Near by Mitali Perkins

  1. Great review! That cover is beautiful. Think I may be adding this to my TBR, it is a type of book I haven’t read a lot of and have been looking to add things like this.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. What a beautiful review! Thank you so much for talking about this book – I haven’t heard of it before, but it sounds exactly like the kind of books I enjoy, the ones that stay with you and really make you think ❤ Thank you for sharing this! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Awwww, Thank you, Marie! Yes it was! I was thrilled to share it to my readers and I never expected to like this book! It talks about life mainly and there’s a lesser romance compare to other YA Contemporary! Mitali Perkins is such an amazing writer and I love love love this book!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

