Blogger Spotlight: Calliope Goddess

PERSONAL LIFE

  1. What book introduces you to fiction novels? Can you name your top five picks?

I remember reading a lot of Junie B. Jones and Ramona books when I was younger along with Magic Treehouse, but Harry Potter and Percy Jackson were the first YA/Middle-Grade fiction books that I really fell in love with.

  1. Tell us one story that hinted you that time that you love reading as much as you love it today.

I think when I was in elementary school we had these reading logs to record how many hours and books we read and I remember that I always had the most hours and books on my blog and everyone was always so amazed that I actually liked to read.

  1. If you are going to date someone, fictional or not, dead or alive, who would it be and why? What are the things that you are going to do on your date?

I would totally want to date Percy Jackson because he’s funny, sarcastic, beautiful, a demigod and a total dork sometimes. I would love to go snorkeling on a date because a) I’ve never done that and b) his dad is Poseidon and hello maybe he could hook us up with being able to breathe underwater for like an hour

  1. Name some of your favorite authors and give them a brief description of why they are your favorites.

A new favorite author of mine is V.E. Schwab, I’ve been reading a lot of her books lately and love her. My favorite fantasy writers are Cassandra Clare, Leigh Bardugo, Marissa Meyer and Sarah J. Maas, my favorite YA contemporary writers are Morgan Matson and Jenny Han, and my favorite Adult romance writer is Colleen Hoover. I just love these authors and they’re my auto-read/buy authors where I would automatically read or buy anything new they wrote.

  1. If you are going to give advice to your 10-year-old self, what would it be?

I think I would tell myself to chill out and enjoy being young a bit more because as you get older there’s more stress and responsibility. Also to not be afraid to embrace the qualities that make me different and it’s okay to be that weird bookworm.

BLOGGING LIFE

  1. What made you start to do book blogging? What push you to do it?

I loved watching BookTube and wanted to also take part in the online book community but I was waaaaay to shy to put myself on YouTube so I decided to start a blog. What pushed me was my friends never getting as excited as me about books and also me annoying them with my ranting.

  1. What was the most difficult part of book blogging?

As my blog has grown, so have I, and making time for my blog is the hardest part because school gets busier as you progress and I’m hoping that over the summer it will be easier to read more and spruce up my blog a bit more.

  1. What do you think is your best contribution yet in the community of authors, readers and book bloggers?

I’ve made several discussion posts about various bookish topics and those have gotten the most comments and discussion going about different things happening in the YA book world as well as the bookish world in general.

  1. When life happens, how do you get back on track on book blogging?

Sometimes, if I’m at school I just find myself a computer and blog for an entire period if I’m not doing anything, that usually catches me up, and that’s how I get some of my wrap-ups in at the end of the month when I’m so busy.

  1. Mention some Book Blogging Friends that you would love to see in person!

Ari from the Daydreaming Bookworm is such a lovely person and her taste in romance books is great, whenever I need a recommendation I check out her blog or Goodreads page, and she’s so sweet. Same thing with Deanna from A Novel Glimpse, I love reading her reviews and finding new books to read from her.

BOOKISH LIFE

  1. One thing you are grateful for, for belonging in the bookish community.

I love how we all just understand each other. We’re all bookworms who read different genres and it’s okay that one blogger reads classics and I read YA because we have Harry Potter in common, or this blogger only reads adult romance and I’ve never read that, let me try and boom I’m in love with adult romance now. The close knit family we are is what makes me grateful for belonging in the bookish community.

  1. How do you pick the books that you are going to read next?

Usually whatever is up next or about to expire on my live-brary account, then I just request more from Goodreads, what my friends on Goodreads are reading, what books I just bought etc. For example I have two books in my live-brary account right now that are top priority and expiring soon, so I’m going to read those, then my much long awaited A Court of Wings and Ruin and then I’m going to prep for reading King’s Cage by Victoria Aveyard that I just bought by reading Glass Sword, the book before it.

  1. SHOW US YOUR BOOKSHELF!

kkk

Just ignore those math packets on the ground, I just took my math exam. I also have various other spots where I keep books, I have a lamp bookshelf with a few and some shelves on the other side of my room with books that I have either outgrown or haven’t grown into yet.

  1. Any advice to those who are planning to establish their own book blog but couldn’t?

Don’t be afraid of what others think your limitations are because you know yourself better than anyone else. It’s pretty simple to start a book blog and if you can’t, social media accounts are also great to talk about books on, Instagram and Twitter included.

  1. What is your one ultimate favorite quote from a book and why?

I love humor, so from the mortal instruments that quote where Clary slaps Jace for the other 10% that he was unsure of in the elevator after he used his seraph blade on her.


Thank you so much, Calliope! I love your bookshelf! Check Out Calliope’s Blog HERE. You’ll be amazed how organized her blog!

2 thoughts on “Blogger Spotlight: Calliope Goddess

Leave a Reply

