Blogger Spotlight: Ruby’s Books

One of my awesome bookstagram and book blogger friends is here on my blog right now! Let’s all welcome Ruby from Ruby’s Books!



PERSONAL LIFE

What book introduces you to fiction novels? Can you name 5 of your favorite books or series?

The very first book that I remember voluntarily picking up to read was Baum’s Wizard of Oz. I remember it being one of those stories everyone seemed to love and I decided to try it out. I was probably nine at the time. Can’t say I enjoyed the story, definitely not as much as I loved the movie.

It’s always difficult to name just a few favorite books, but I’ll try it out:

  • J.K. Rowling’s Harry Potter – because it was the first time I actually liked a fictional world, enough to wish I could stay in it
  • Sherrilyn Kenyon’s Dark Hunter series – I’ve read these books more than 5 times each, and each time I fall more and more in love with these stories, although I can’t exactly name just one thing that I love about them
  • Sophie Kinsella’s Can You Keep A Secret – it is hard to pick just one Kinsella book that I love, but if I have to, this one is my absolute favorite
  • Mitch Albom’s The Five People You Meet In Heaven – the first book that I picked up out of boredom, one day, while waiting for the train on my home (there was a little bookshop at the station that I used to love going to all the time) that turned out to be a gem. Also because of the theme of the book
  • Tolkien’s Lord Of The Rings – the first book I bought with my own saved money. Lots of memories there.

How did you start to like reading as a habit? Do you have any other habits aside from reading novels?

I started by falling in love with vampires, and so Anne Rice was the only thing I used to read, but after reading all the available novels by her (the Chronicles of Vampires series is still not fully translated in my country), I started losing interest in reading. Luckily, when I was in college a friend of mine borrowed the first Sookie Stackhouse book, which I loved, and that made me fall in love with reading all over again.

When I’m not reading I love watching TV shows and knit or crochet. I also love gaming. Love it, ever since I first got a computer and I got my hands on some really cool action games (which now could be seen as boring and outdated, but I would gladly play them again).

If you are going to date someone, fictional or not, dead or alive, who would it be and why? What are the things that you are going to do on your date?

I would date a lot of fictional characters, Ash Parthenopaeus being one of the first ones, and since he is as old as dirt, I’d pick his brain for cool stories about the past, mostly stuff that no one knows about.

Name some of your favorite authors and give them a brief description of why are they your favorites. 

Tolkien because he was able to create such a magical world, that sometimes it’s hard to remember or accept it isn’t real.

If you are going to give advice to your 10-year-old self, what would it be?

Reading-wise I would say not to worry if you seem like the freak who hates reading, you just haven’t found your favorite genre yet.

BLOGGING LIFE

What made you start to do book blogging?

I had just finished college and I moved to a new country, all my friends were back home and while I talked to them, I needed something more. I was familiar with blogging and writing articles, so it wasn’t such a new thing for me. I also wanted desperately to share my love of romance with someone, which is a book genre that is still frowned upon even now.

What was the most difficult part of book blogging?

Balancing real life with blogging, which although it is a hobby of mine, it sometimes feels like a second job.

Interacting with people from different places, virtually, how did you gather so many followers? If you have one thing to thanks to your followers, what would it be?

I actually don’t have a lot of followers. I have a pretty old blog, going on 7 years, and my follower count is still close to that of a newly started blog. But those few followers I have have been with me from the start, most of them. I thank them for sticking with me, even though I’m very infrequent in my blogging.

What do you think is the disadvantage of bloggers?

Having to cater to someone’s likes or dislikes, and having to face the wrath of everyone if daring to say something that isn’t popular, be it negative or positive. While I can appreciate and love the fact that we live in a time where everyone can have a voice and some issues are openly talked about, it’s also really sad that people sometimes forget that not always pointing the finger at someone is the way to go, especially if you’re one of the privileged people.

Mention some Book Blogging Friends that you would love to see in person!

Oh man, I would love to meet everyone. Meredith from Pandora’s Books, you, Austine from Novel Knight, Paige from The Paige Turner, Brittany from Brittany’s Book Rambles, Mishma from Chasing Faerytales, Ben from Benjamin Of Tomes. I feel I’m forgetting people, but between book bloggers, bookstagrammers, booklers and booktubers, it is hard to name everyone. But yes, basically I want to meet all the bookish people in the universe.

BOOKISH LIFE

Name some favorite book of yours according to your genre preferences.

Paranormal romance will always mean Kenyon for me, horror will always mean Anne Rice, chick lit will always always mean Kinsella. I’d rather tell you my favorite authors than my favorite book, it would be lots easier.

How do you pick the books that you are going to read next?

By staring intensely at the shelves and going on instinct and on what I feel like reading. Also based on my review schedule, but again, by what I desperately need to read first.

SHOW US YOUR BOOKSHELF! Describe it.

I promise to take a picture one I finish organizing them. I recently bought a new shelf, but the gist of it is this: one tiny shelf has all my mysteries, and random standalones that I collected over the years, one shelf is full of my YA novels, then another one is full of my erotic literature and other various adult novels, another shelf is just for paranormal, yet another for my chick lit, one for Marc Levy, one for Kinsella, and Rowling and Tolkien share the same shelf.

What are the books and authors that influence you as a reader?

None. Strangely enough, I read based on what I feel the need to read at the time.

What is your one ultimate favorite quote from a book and why?

“Just because you can, doesn’t mean you should” by Sherrilyn Kenyon. Because it’s good to keep in mind that just because you can do something, you don’t always have to do it, or that you should be doing it. It’s easy to forget that being able to do something isn’t a free pass at doing it, especially stuff that will have a negative impact on others. I’d get that tattooed if I wasn’t such a scaredy cat.


ABOUT RUBY


I’m a girl that currently lives in Italy, with a Psychology degree that loves reading. All kinds of books, not just romance. That is why, from time to time, I’ll write reviews to non-romance books. These reviews are written for my own enjoyment (and, hopefully, for the readers of this blog). That means that I do not accept any payment for my reviews.

About the books I read
Like I said before, I read all kinds of books. I first discovered my passion for reading when a school mate convinced me to read Harry Potter. I was thirteen at the time. I had read other books before, but they were never enough to make me want to read anything I could put my hands on. A few months after reading the first three books about the boy who lived, another school mate introduced me to  The Lord of the Rings. My love for vampires started about a year or so later, when read my first Anne Rice novel, The Vampire Armand. I had already seen Interview with a vampire about once or twice, but I didn’t realize that I wanted the book with the same title as the film, so I started reading the series out of order unfortunately.

Five years ago, a girl from college gave me the first book I’ve ever read about vampires that could have sex: Dead Until Dark by Carlaine Harris. Before this I read a little of everything. I discovered erotic romance with Lora Leigh, I tried history romance and I loved it too. I then turned to Shakespeare which I loved very much and that was odd, because I really don’t care much for classics. The only other  “old” books I love were Pride and Prejudice and Paul Feval’s The Hunchback and I could probably read these two over and over again.

I remember when I was about fourteen that I had a brief Robin Hood phase, when every book that counted were those about the famous outlaw. I read my first romance book when I was about fifteen. It was Invitation to Waltz by Mihail Drumes, a Romanian author, and the person who told me to read it was my Dad. It’s not a book that has a HEA (happy ever after), it’s a bittersweet story told from the hero’s POV.

In high school I discovered chick lit and the first book in this genre that I read was Can You Keep a Secret by Sophie Kinsella. I’m still not over my chick lit phase and I don’t intend to get over it too soon.

My first mystery novel was a hit-and-miss. I tried The Da Vinci Code but I couldn’t get caught up in the mystery of it. I tried again with The Labirinth by Kate Mosse and I discovered I actually did like the genre. I then read The Shakespeare Secret by Jennifer Lee Carrell, a wonderful story about the mystery around Shakespeare.

I’m usually trying to read from various genres, I don’t want to stick with just one genre, because usually the various novels tend to become too much alike, even though they’re written by completely different authors.

I’m one of those weird readers that cheat when reading, meaning that I read more than one books at the same time. I once managed to read four books at the same time. I do manage to keep the books separate, I know what happened in what book and when. I usually do this if the books aren’t too interesting for me to want to read faster, but not too boring as to give up reading it. If I like a book too much, I usually read it really fast the first time, to follow the main plot and to see what happens with the main characters. Then I usually reread it, with more patience and more attention to the little details that I missed the first time. It hasn’t happened a lot though, for me to find a book I want to finish in one day and to reread it right after finishing it.

So this is my story. I’ll probably find something else to say in the near future. If you want to tell me something (like recommend books or want me to review your books or even to tell me that my English is bad… no, English is not my mother language) send me an email at  rubys_books@yahoo.com

2 thoughts on “Blogger Spotlight: Ruby’s Books

Leave a Reply

