Book Review: The Last Magician by Lisa Maxwell

the-last-magician-9781481432092_hrBrilliant. Compelling. Masterpiece. I don’t know what else to describe this book but there’s one thing that I’m sure of. This book will be engraved on my fantasy heart and hold me dearly because I just found a new favorite and a new author to support! I have this attitude that I – mostly – based my book purchases on the cover alone because why not, right? I mean we were not supposed to judge the book by its cover but I was attracted to beautiful covers, especially and specifically if the book is a fantasy. And yes, I’m guilty. Above all, that’s one of my guilty pleasures on finding amazing and attractive book covers. However, it was not simply ended there.

I read The Last Magician by Lisa Maxwell and devoured those 498 pages given that the book is a tall book in two sitting. My goodness, Raf. What have you done with the book? I’m just so hooked on the story that I want to finish it so bad. Also, I’ve included this on my tweets but seriously, I couldn’t put the book down even if I want to! I was already past dawn and the sun is starting to rise when I finished the novel. It was so good that I keep on wanting more. I wish I had the power to read the book for the first time again – because this is one of those books you wish you did.

It was holding me at my seat, gripping every sense in my body, I was on my edge when I was reading the book. I consumed the book and before I know it. I was mesmerized – enlighten, captivated by the plot, by the story. I couldn’t fathom everything because everything I happen to find in a fantasy is in this book. Badass characters. Manipulative. Betrayals. Amazing plot. Wonderful Writing Style. All in one. It was like a package that you would want to have.

Esta, our main protagonist is a talented con and magician. If she isn’t. I don’t know what she is. And I’m pretty sure that you are going to love her. She was amazing and she put a lot of stunts and improvising. It will make you interested because she does things in her own way. And sometimes, that’s her weakness. She’s stubborn and playful, gumptious and brave. Prepare yourself because once you started reading The Last Magician, there’s no turning back.

At first, I assumed that the first boy was her love interest but I was wrong, people. I was wrong! This is not a cliché fantasy nor a cliché romance. It challenges everything and destroys stereotypes in society. It is diverse and I’m loving it. It is on the last few pages of the book when I realized that, holy shit, Lisa Maxwell did put a lot of thought into writing this book because I didn’t see those things coming. I did get one right prediction but everything? EVERYTHING? No. I didn’t see everything coming and my jaw just drops on everything I read. It was good and that’s why I was wondering why there’s a small change and click, that’s why. [I’m talking about one realization, I made when I was reading the book and I try to be vague as possible. I don’t want to spoil you because this is one of my amazing moments.]

The concept of magic is nothing new. There are stones and a book but you know what’s new? It feels like I’m watching a Marvel Universe by collecting the stones but in this book it was not being collected. They are finding the freedom because magic was captured. If it was not the best, it is one of the better. I love how magic works here and affinity. We don’t know much anything about affinities here and I’m so looking forward to the system that has been implied in the book. I know that there are so much more.

The gang. Dolph, Nibs, Viola, Jack, Harte – almost every character here has a purpose, everyone has a role to play and I love that Lisa Maxwell told it in third person point of view. We had a full grasp on what was happening on everyone and we could see the character developments in each and every one.

There’s this time that I asked myself and wonder what could be Esta’s root and this is one thing you need to write down on your head. I was so occupied with the story that I’m waiting what is the connection with the given clue towards her name and connect it with the story and I’m shocked to find out the revelations. I didn’t see it coming. Lisa Maxwell writes so well that I didn’t think that it was a possibility.

The Last Magician by Lisa Maxwell is a book that you must have. It is indeed remarkable on its own way and there’s a lot of elements to look forward to in the next book. I thought it was standalone and it will end once Esta did her mission but no. There’s a lot more than you think what it is. It will grip you hard, hold you on your seat and you’ll be happy that you started reading the book. It was one of my best reads of 2017 and I know that I won’t forget this book. It exceeded my expectations and satisfy me more than I thought it would. Thank you, Lisa, for writing an outstanding book. Thank you.

MY RATINGS: 5 STARS!


ABOUT THE AUTHOR


7246482Lisa Maxwell is the New York Times Best-Selling author of THE LAST MAGICIAN. Also of UNHOOKED, SWEET UNREST, and GATHERING DEEP. When she’s not writing books, she teaches English at a local college. She lives near DC with her very patient husband and two not-so patient boys.

21 thoughts on “Book Review: The Last Magician by Lisa Maxwell

  1. Fantasy is not generally what I read normally. But your review makes me want to attempt this one. Hope this is a standalone, not a series. Will check this one out for sure. Great review.

    Gayathri @ Musings Over Nothing

    Liked by 2 people

    • Gayathri! Thank you so much for this wonderful and inspiring comment! You made my day, today! I hope you still check this book out because it is a duology. And it is so good that I couldn’t describe how it crackle my feelings!

      Like

    • Hi! Oh, well then this is your cup of tea, if you don’t like tea, coffee then! It was good like super duper super good because I couldn’t put the book down and you are going to hail Queen Lisa Maxwell for writing this amazing novel!

      Like

Leave a Reply

