Book Review: Almost Home by Madisen Kuhn

From the Instagram poet and author of the exquisite Please Don’t Go Before I Get Better comes a gorgeous poetry and prose collection that explores the meaning of “home” and the profound discovery of finding it within oneself—perfect for fans of Rupi Kaur and Amanda Lovelace.

In this stunning third collection from Madisen Kuhn, Madisen eloquently analyzes some of life’s universal themes within the framework of a house. Whether it’s the garden, the bedroom, or the front porch, Madisen takes you into her own “home,” sharing some of the most intimate parts of her life so that you might also, someday, feel free to share some of yours.

Filled with beautiful hand-drawn illustrations from Melody Hansen, this boldly intimate, preternaturally wise, and emotionally candid collection encourages you to consider what home means to you—whether it’s in the lush, green-lawned suburbs or a city apartment—and, more importantly, explores how you can find it even when home feels like it’s on the far-off horizon.


Book Review:

Almost Home by Madisen Kuhn is difficult to review. At the first part of the book, I have a love and hate relationship towards the poetries because, at times, I couldn’t relate and then, I will be able to relate, but when the other poetries came into view, I was able to put the puzzles together and with her afterword, I could definitely feel the pain, the scars, her emotions begging for freedom and her words igniting empathy towards its audience.

This book is so painful to read. You can definitely see the longing, the depression that she had, the attention that she needed, the understanding and patience that she keep on wanting. What I liked about this collection is that Madisen Kuhn was able to portray her own experience with so much bravery and be the voice of those who are struggling to be heard.

This book is such a heartfelt read. If you would ask me if I’m going to read this book again, I would definitely read it over and over again. Only to get lost in her words and find myself back again. To realize that we are all young at some point and we haven’t figured life. That it is okay to make mistakes beyond our grasp and that we can learn from it. Almost Home by Madisen Kuhn is a mix of discomfort and relieve feeling but at the same time, it symbolizes how Madisen Kuhn wanted to be an inspiration to us, to those people who feel like they don’t have a voice in their world.

Almost Home — is such a vulnerable poetry book that signifies how strong a person could be and hoping you (us) will be too.

MY RATINGS: 4.5 STARS

(I was about to rate this book three stars but I really didn’t expect to love this book so much!)

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Google Play | Book Depository


ABOUT THE AUTHOR


Madisen Kuhn is a 23-year-old poet from Charlottesville, Virginia. She likes to explore topics of identity, belonging, sexuality, and mental illness in her work. In 2015, she self-published her first collection of poetry, Eighteen Years, after gaining a following on Tumblr and Instagram. Her second book, Please Don’t Go Before I Get Better, was released May 2018 by Gallery Books. Her third book, Almost Home, will be released in October 2019. She is currently pursuing a BFA in Studio + Digital Arts with a Minor in Creative Writing.

Madisen is represented by Folio Literary Management + is a Simon & Schuster author. Stay connected with Madisen for daily updates by following her on twitter, instagram, and tumblr.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s