Book Review: XL by Scott Brown

Fiercely funny, honest, and poignant, this story of a growth spurt gone wrong is perfect for readers who love Becky Albertalli and Jesse Andrews.  Will Daughtry is a late bloomer--at least, that's what everyone tells him. On his sixteenth birthday, Will is just shy of five feet, and he is bitterly resigned to being tiny … Continue reading Book Review: XL by Scott Brown

Advertisements

Book Review: The Hazel Wood by Melissa Albert

Seventeen-year-old Alice and her mother have spent most of Alice’s life on the road, always a step ahead of the uncanny bad luck biting at their heels. But when Alice’s grandmother, the reclusive author of a cult-classic book of pitch-dark fairy tales, dies alone on her estate, the Hazel Wood, Alice learns how bad her … Continue reading Book Review: The Hazel Wood by Melissa Albert

Book Review: Stronger Than A Bronze Dragon by Mary Fan

When a powerful viceroy arrives with a fleet of mechanical dragons and stops an attack on Anlei’s village, the villagers see him as a godsend. They agree to give him their sacred, enchanted River Pearl in exchange for permanent protection—if he’ll marry one of the village girls to solidify the alliance. Anlei is appalled when … Continue reading Book Review: Stronger Than A Bronze Dragon by Mary Fan

Book Review: Stay a Little Longer by Dawn Lanuza

They were perfect strangers—all perks, no strings. Until they weren't. Elan wasn’t supposed to meet Caty. She lived halfway around the world, and he barely left Manila. Yet here he was, giving her a ride to the airport. Convinced that they would never have to see each other again after that day, Elan and Caty started to bond over … Continue reading Book Review: Stay a Little Longer by Dawn Lanuza

Book Review: Aurora Rising by Jay Kristoff and Amie Kaufman

Aurora Rising: 9781984893956 Published by: Random House Children's Books From the internationally bestselling authors of THE ILLUMINAE FILES comes an epic new science fiction adventure. The year is 2380, and the graduating cadets of Aurora Academy are being assigned their first missions. Star pupil Tyler Jones is ready to recruit the squad of his dreams, … Continue reading Book Review: Aurora Rising by Jay Kristoff and Amie Kaufman

Book Review: The Bride Test by Helen Hoang

Khai Diep has no feelings. Well, he feels irritation when people move his things or contentment when ledgers balance down to the penny, but not big, important emotions—like grief. And love. He thinks he’s defective. His family knows better—that his autism means he just processes emotions differently. When he steadfastly avoids relationships, his mother takes … Continue reading Book Review: The Bride Test by Helen Hoang

Book Review: Impossible Music by Sean Williams

Music is Simon’s life—which is why he is devastated when a stroke destroys his hearing. He resists attempts to help him adjust to his new state, refusing to be counselled, refusing to learn sign-language, refusing to have anything to do with Deaf culture. Refusing, that is, until he meets G, a tough-as-nails girl dealing with … Continue reading Book Review: Impossible Music by Sean Williams