Event Recap: 40th Manila International Book Fair

It has been so long since I remember the last time I truly enjoy Manila International Book Fair. It is the biggest book fair in the country and I couldn't help it but fell in love with books again. My day started meeting Danica of The Hogsmeade Reader and Donna of Sirena Reader! These two people are … Continue reading Event Recap: 40th Manila International Book Fair

Advertisements

Book Review: Red at the Bone by Jacqueline Woodson

An unexpected teenage pregnancy pulls together two families from different social classes, and exposes the private hopes, disappointments, and longings that can bind or divide us from each other. Moving forward and backward in time, Jacqueline Woodson's taut and powerful new novel uncovers the role that history and community have played in the experiences, decisions, … Continue reading Book Review: Red at the Bone by Jacqueline Woodson

Book Review: Frankly in Love by David Yoon

September 10th 2019 by G.P. Putnam’s Sons Books for Young Readers Original Title: Frankly in Love ISBN: 1984812203 (ISBN13: 9781984812209) High school senior Frank Li is a Limbo–his term for Korean-American kids who find themselves caught between their parents’ traditional expectations and their own Southern California upbringing. His parents have one rule when it comes … Continue reading Book Review: Frankly in Love by David Yoon

Book Review: Patron Saints of Nothing by Randy Ribay

A powerful coming-of-age story about grief, guilt, and the risks a Filipino-American teenager takes to uncover the truth about his cousin's murder. Jay Reguero plans to spend the last semester of his senior year playing video games before heading to the University of Michigan in the fall. But when he discovers that his Filipino cousin … Continue reading Book Review: Patron Saints of Nothing by Randy Ribay

Book Review: Turtles All The Way by John Green

Sixteen-year-old Aza never intended to pursue the mystery of fugitive billionaire Russell Pickett, but there’s a hundred-thousand-dollar reward at stake and her Best and Most Fearless Friend, Daisy, is eager to investigate. So together, they navigate the short distance and broad divides that separate them from Russell Pickett’s son, Davis. Aza is trying. She is … Continue reading Book Review: Turtles All The Way by John Green

Book Review: An Absolutely Remarkable Thing by Hank Green

The Carls just appeared. Roaming through New York City at three a.m., twenty-three-year-old April May stumbles across a giant sculpture. Delighted by its appearance and craftsmanship—like a ten-foot-tall Transformer wearing a suit of samurai armor—April and her friend, Andy, make a video with it, which Andy uploads to YouTube. The next day, April wakes up … Continue reading Book Review: An Absolutely Remarkable Thing by Hank Green

Book Review: Lady Smoke by Laura Sebastian

The sequel to the instant New York Times bestseller that was "made for fans of Victoria Aveyard and Sabaa Tahir" ( Bustle ), Lady Smoke is an epic new fantasy about a throne cruelly stolen and a girl who must fight to take it back for her people.  The Kaiser murdered Theodosia's mother, the Fire Queen, when Theo was only six. … Continue reading Book Review: Lady Smoke by Laura Sebastian